Skip to main content

Holocaust Research Guide: Locating Articles

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

Databases

 

Periodical Indexes

 

America: History and Life
1964 to present Indexes history journals dealing with U.S. and Canadian history. It also lists book reviews and dissertations.

CEEOL (Central and East European Online Library)  is an online archive which provides access to full text PDF articles from 220 humanities and social science journals, electronic books and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics.

Cumulated Magazine Subject Index, 1907-1949 2 volumes (1907-1949)
Reference AI3. M31

Useful for coverage of magazines not indexed in Reader's Guide or other indexes. Although its emphasis is on the United States, it also covers European topics

Dissertations and Theses

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT — Full Text includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.

Please note that some dissertations are unavailable as full-text due to author restrictions.

Historical Abstracts
1955 to present An index to historical journals, books and dissertations, Historical Abstracts covers world history from 1450 to the present.

Index to Articles in Jewish Studies (RAMBI) (1966 to present)
Reference Z 6367 .J62

RAMBI is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish Studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages, mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel. The main criterion for inclusion in the bibliography is that the article be based on scientific research, or contain important information for such research.


Index to Jewish Periodicals (1988 to present)
Reference Z 6367 .I5

An author and subject index to selected English language journals of general and scholarly interest.

Reader's Guide Retrospective
1890-1983 The great index to American popular and general interest magazines. These are the periodicals that everyone read and subscribed to.

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1890 to present)
Reference AI3 .R48 This great index to U.S. popular magazines will identify articles that the average American was reading during the 1930's and 1940's. Also available online to 1983 as Reader's Guide Retrospective

SocINDEX with fulltext
An index to scholarly journals.

Subject Index to Periodicals (1915-1961)
Reference AI3 .S8 Continued as British Humanities Index, 1962 to the present (AI3 .B7). An index to British popular magazines.

Subject Guide

Tarina Rosen's picture
Tarina Rosen
Contact:
Woodruff Library
Emory University
Atlanta, Ga. 30322

Phone: 404 727-1583
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322