Skip to main content

Holocaust Research Guide: Primary Sources

War Crimes Trials

Trial of the Major War Criminals before the International Military Tribunal (The Blue Series)
42 volumes (1947-1949)
D804 .G42I55
The trials of Goering, Hess, Ribbentrop and others.  The complete text of the volumes containing the trial proceedings, volumes 1-22, is also available at the Yale University Avalon Project web site. (Vol. 23, Index, and vols. 24-42, Documents, are not available at this site.)

Trials of War Criminals before the Nuremberg Military Tribunals (The Green Series) 15 volumes (1949-1953)
D804 .G42A42 Contains records for the trials of major German industrial firms, the medical cases, and others. The complete transcripts in English and German, along with Prosecution and Defense exhibits and evidence for Case 1, "The Medical Case," Case 9, "The Einsatzgruppen Case," and Case 10, "The Krupp Case," are on Microfilm 1209.

Nazi Conspiracy and Aggression 8 volumes (1946)
D804 .G42A4 An overview of the International Military Tribunal proceedings, this work overlaps much of what was reported in the Blue Series. The complete text of this work is also available at the Yale University Avalon Project web site.

Nuremberg War Crimes Trials Online
JX5437 .N8 1995
 This CD contains the text of the three titles above plus the Final Report to the Secretary of the Army on the Nuernberg War Crimes Trials.... It is a useful tool for searching for subject matter but its page numbers are not the same as those of the printed sets. Consequently, reference must be made to the printed volumes for citation purposes

Newspapers: Fulltext and/or Indexes

Christian Science Monitor -- Historical (1908-1991)

Provides full text of all articles.

New York Times Historical
1851-2001 Offers full text images of all articles.

Times Digital Archive (1785-1985) Displays the fully searchable complete text of every issue of the newspaper. Searches can be done on keyword, adverstisements, editorials, people and photographs.

 

Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006

 

Washington Post
1877-1988 A full text database and index.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Proquest Historical Databases

This link will search the following historical newspapers and periodicals:

  • American Periodicals (1740-1940)
  • The Historical Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1939)
  • The Historical Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
  • The Historical Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
  • The Historical Boston Globe (1872 - 1925)
  • The Historical Chicago Defender (1905-1975)
  • The Historical Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1986)
  • The Historical Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 1995)
  • The Historical Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
  • The Historical Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
  • The Historical Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1986)
  • The Historical New York Amersterdam News (1922-1933)
  • The Historical New York Times (1851 - 2005)
  • The Historical Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003)
  • The Historical Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
  • The Historical Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
  • The Historical Times of India (1838-2001)
  • The Historical Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1991)
  • The Historical Washington Post (1877 - 1992)

 


Jerusalem Post
Online edition of the daily newspaper, with an archive of the past year's issues.
Issues from 1989 to the present are available on Newsbank Access World News
Palestine Post/Jerusalem Post backfile 1932-1988
Issues from 1933 to 1988 are also available on microfilm (MICFILM 3532) in the Woodruff Library.

Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971

This link will search the following historical newspapers and periodicals:

  • Jewish Chronicle (1921-1943)
  • Carolina Israelite (1944-1958)

Primary Sources

Collections

 

Archives of the Holocaust 10 volumes (1990)
D804.3 .A57 1990

Contains reproductions of files and documents from a number of relief and charitable organizations dealing with the plight of the Jews during the 30's and 40's.

Post-War Europe Series I: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950
Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950 provides a unique perspective on the lives of the survivors — Jewish and non-Jewish — of the Holocaust and World War II. The collection contains documents from British government files as well as those of the Jewish Committee for Relief Abroad and the Jewish Relief Units — including surveys, leaflets, reports of relief workers, U.S. zone reports, War office memos, Exodus Camp records, Displaced Persons Assembly Centre weekly reports and correspondence of relief organizations. It covers the international politics leading the administration, care, repatriation and emigration of Displaced Persons (DPs) and the daily plight of the refugees themselves.

Testaments to the Holocaust. Series One: Archives of the Wiener Library 76 reels (1998)
Micfilm 3549 Contains publications and reports of the Jewish Central Information Office from 1934 and 1935 and Wiener Library publications from 1942-1965. There is a guide to the microfilm at Microguide D810 .J4T48 1998. This collection is now online and fully searchable.

Testaments to the Holocaust. Series Two: The Wiener Library Thematic Press Cuttings Collection, 1933-1945 153 reels (1999)
Micfilm 3942 This set contains articles from National Socialist and other right-wing German newspapers and magazines as well as articles from foreign periodical and newspaper sources. It documents, through contemporary, popular media, Nazi ideology, race theory, and persecution. The printed guide to the set is at Microguide D810 .J4T482 1999.

Testaments to the Holocaust. Series Three: The Henriques Collection. <64 reels.
Micfilm 4069 This is the collection of papers of the head of the Jewish Committee for Relief Abroad which operated in post-war Europe to aid those who had been in concentration camps.


 

Congressional and Parliamentary Records

 

Congressional Record Title varies (1789 to present)
Government Documents Legislative Reference There is an index to subjects and bills at the end of the last volume of each session.

ProQuest Congressional (formerly Lexis-Nexis Congressional)
This index refers the researcher to congressional committee hearings, transcripts, and reports on microfiche. See volume 1, p. xi of the printed U.S.Congressional Hearing Index (Reference KF40 .C53) for the key to the microfiche sets.

Parliamentary Debates (Hansard). House of Commons Official Report Title varies. (1909 to present)
Government Documents J301 .K22

Parliamentary Debates (Hansard). House of Lords Official Report Title varies. (1909 to present)
Government Documents J301 .J22

For further information on British Parliamentary publications at Emory, see British Parliamentary Papers.


 

 

Witnesses

 

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies.
pecial Collections, Woodruff Library Video tapes of testimonies taken by Yale University. See also Guide to Yale University Library Holocaust Video Testimonies, ( D804.3 .F67 1994). Another copy is in MARBL.

Witness to the Holocaust Project - Emory University
Special Collections, Woodruff Library Audio cassettes, video cassettes and transcripts in two main categories: Experiences of Jewish Survivors and Experiences of Liberators. This outstanding web site reproduces many of the actual transcripts and photographs in the case files of the collection.


Visual History Archive Online
The Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive contains 52,000 testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust. The online version contains the data on all 52,000 testimonies.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Subject Guide

Tarina Rosen's picture
Tarina Rosen
Contact:
Woodruff Library
Emory University
Atlanta, Ga. 30322

Phone: 404 727-1583
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322