Skip to main content

*African Studies Research Guide: Citing Your Sources

Covers major background sources, databases and web sites related to African Studies

Plagiarism

 

Using the work of another scholar without proper citation, whether that work is available in print or online, is plagiarism, a violation of the Emory Honor Code. It is extremely easy for professors to discover work plagiarized from web sources -- they know how to use Google at least as well as you do, and there are many online tools available specifically to help educators detect plagiarized work.

Make an Appointment at the Writing Center

The Emory Writing Center manages scheduling via a web-based program called WCOnline. You can read additional information about creating appointments on the Writing Center website.

Citing Sources



Useful Citation Guides:

 

Brief Citation Guide for Internet Sources in History and the Humanities Documentation Guidelines 

Citing Your Sources Research Guide

Documenting Electronic Resources

Writer's Center: Documenting Styles . Covers other popular citiation styles and has useful section on citing sources and avoiding plagiarism.



Endnote

EndNote is a personal citation/bibliography manager program. It helps researchers organize their references in a database which can be used to format citations and create bibliographies automatically in a word processor.


Zotero

A free personal Citation/bibliography manager program that has many fans. Check out the Zotero page for more information.

 

Need help writing your paper? Try visiting the Emory Writing Center which provides services from a freshman paper through a Ph.D. dissertation. You can make an appointment by using the box on the left.

 

 

Subject Librarian

Phil MacLeod's picture
Phil MacLeod
Contact:
Philip S. MacLeod

pmacleo@emory.edu

Bibliographer for Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Luso-Hispanic Studies, African Studies and Comparative Literature

Robert W. Woodruff Library

Emory University

540 Asbury Circle

Atlanta, GA 30322

Tel.404-727-0150
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322