Skip to main content

*African Studies Research Guide: Country Information

Covers major background sources, databases and web sites related to African Studies

Countries of Africa

Country Information

EIU Country Reports

 

Country Information

Country Information

 

 

African Historical Dictionary Series. (Reference collection. Check for individual call numbers.)
Contains entries for important names, places, etc. in the history of individual African countries

Africa Yearbook Online. Annual. 2004- .Covers major domestic political developments, the foreign policy and socio-economic trends in sub-Saharan Africa. (Some print available DT 353 .A367) For more news sources by country see Africa News libguide.

African Country Portal:  News, Statistics, Maps, Images and More from the African Studies Centre at Leiden.

BBC Country Profiles:Africa (scroll down page to Country Profiles)

Country Studies/Area Handbook Series
A U.S. government produced series of monographs on individual countries throughout the worl published through the late 1990's. There is a volume for most African nations. This series is well-written and contains extensive bibliographies. Electronic versions of volumes published since 1988 are available. Paper copies of the full collection located in the Documents Collection D101.6/6 on level one of Woodruff Library. Updated by Country Profiles.

EIU Country Reports (Emory Only)
The Economist Intelligence Unit is the world's leading provider of country intelligence, providing up-to-date, reliable and impartial analysis of worldwide market trends and business strategies. EIU continuously assesses and forecasts political, economic and business conditions in almost 200 countries, and provides insight into how companies are responding.

EIU VIEWSWIRE(Emory Only)
This Economist Intelligence Unit service provides daily highlights of key economic, political and business developments worldwide. In addition to updates to the EIU Country Reports, EIU Viewswire includes summaries of regulatory, trade, industry, and investment analysis.

Foreign Information by Country (University of Colorado)

Very useful listing of a wide variety of links to country information put out by the U.S. government, international organizations, and various web portals.

Portals to the World (Library of Congress)

Contains selective links to authoritative, in-depth information about individual countries maintained by subject specialists at the Library of Congress.

U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. World Leaders (formerly Chiefs of State & Cabinet Members)
Provides a list of the President, cabinet members, the Governor of the Central Bank, the country's Ambassador to the U.S., and its U.N. Representative for all countries from Angola to Zimbabwe. Paper and microfiche copies are available in documents colelction on level 1.

United States. Central Intelligence Agency. World Factbook
Information on geography, people, government, economy, transportation, communication, defense for individual countries. Prepared by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. A paper copy is available in the Documents Collection, Pr Ex 3.15.

U.S. Department of State. Background Notes on Africa
Contains information on the geography, people, government, economy, history, government and political conditions, principal government officials, foreign relations, defense, and more for each country with which the US has diplomatic relations. Paper copies are also available in Documents Collection, S 1.123. In May 2012 replaced by Factsheets. SEE ALSO U.S. State Department Information by country which pulls together a vareity of sources. See drop down menu on the right.

World Bank eLibrary (Emory only)

The World Bank is an important player in development studies, with numerous reports about individual African countries as well as the region as a whole. While much information is available for free on its website many important resources are not included but can be found in the subscription service, World Bank eLibrary, a collection of the World Bank’s numerous publications, reports, working papers and other related documents. All texts are searchable by both topic and region, and available in full-text. Currently, over 4,500 documents are indexed in the database. The World Bank’s areas of focus include economic and social development, education, environmental issues, health, and finance.

World Bibliography Series (Reference collection. Check for individual call numbers).
This series, which is available for many African countries, contains annotated lists of books and articles dealing with all elements of the nation.

 

See Also:  Country Links in Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources (Stanford); Africa Country Information in Development Studies libguide.
.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322