Skip to main content

*African Studies Research Guide: Music

Covers major background sources, databases and web sites related to African Studies

Music

MUSIC

 

 

African music is included in the collections of the Heilbrun Music and Media Library, located on the fourth floor of the addition to the Woodruff Library. Popular, folk and art music is included. Holdings are cataloged in EUCLID. In addition to the usual library catalog headings, these recordings are also labeled as part of the Ethnomusicology Collection and are assigned special geographic codes. This makes it easier to determine music holdings for various areas.

    • Finding Recordings Using the Country Codes:

      Consult the Outline of World Cultures (OCM) by George Peter Murdock (Ref. AS36 H84M8) to locate the appropriate country code. African music is assigned codes FA-FZ. F represents Africa as a whole. Some sample codes are:

      FE Ghana
      FF Nigeria
      FK Uganda
      FL Kenya
      FX South Africa
      MP Ethiopia

Enter a TITLE search in EUCLID for "Ethnomusicology Collection" followed immediately by the country code. For example, Ethnomusicology Collection FF1 represents music from Nigeria.

You can also browse a list of holdings of African music by specifying the browsing mode before entering your title search

 

 

OnLINE Listening

 

The Heilbrun Music and Media Library also subscribes to a number of online collections which include African music. Of particular interest are Smithsonian Global Sound  and Contemporary World Music.

Subject Librarian

Phil MacLeod's picture
Phil MacLeod
Contact:
Philip S. MacLeod

pmacleo@emory.edu

Bibliographer for Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Luso-Hispanic Studies, African Studies and Comparative Literature

Robert W. Woodruff Library

Emory University

540 Asbury Circle

Atlanta, GA 30322

Tel.404-727-0150
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322