Skip to main content

*African Studies Research Guide: Slavery/Diaspora E-Resources

Covers major background sources, databases and web sites related to African Studies

Slavery/Diaspora E-Resource

SLAVERY/AFRICAN DIASPORA ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

 

There are many excellent electronic resources including:

African Origins  African Origins contains information about the migration histories of Africans forcibly carried on slave ships into the Atlantic. Using the personal details of 91,491 Africans liberated by International Courts of Mixed Commission and British Vice Admiralty Courts, this resource makes possible new geographic, ethnic, and linguistic data on peoples captured in Africa and pulled into the slave trade. Through contributions to this website by Africans, members of the African Diaspora, and others, we hope to set in motion the rediscovery of the backgrounds of the millions of Africans captured and sold into slavery during suppression of transatlantic slave trading in the 19th century.

The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database, also know as "Voyages"
Contains records of almost 35,000 trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages made between 1514 and 1866. Format allows users to track information by time period and geographic region, and includes interactive maps that allow viewers to chart the trans-Atlantic connections. The accompanying data contains materials about people on board, owners and captains, ships' characteristics, and the geographic trajectory of each voyage.

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 is an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together original manuscripts and rare printed material from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world for the period 1490-2007. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.

The Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic LIterature  presents more than 61,000 books from the period 1460-1850, and 466 pre-1906 serials. In almost 12 million pages, it focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. Has collection of over 1100 titles dealing with slavery.

See also

"African American, Slavery and Abolition," Special Topic from U.S. History Research Guide (Emory)

"African Diaspora," African Studies (Columbia)

"Slavery," Africa South of the Sahara (Stanford)

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322