Skip to main content

*African Studies Research Guide: Films: More Films

Finding films about Africa at Emory and elsewhere plus finding articles and books about African films.

Select Film Distributors

African Movie Academy Awards

The African Movie Academy Awards (AMAA) celebrate the growing African film industry.  2010 was the sixth AMAA and 24 awards were given including Best Picture, Best Documentary, Best Short Film, Best Animation, Best Film by an African Filmmaker in Diaspora, Best Film in African Language and the Heart of Africa Award for the Best Film from Nigeria.

Finding Even More Films

 

 

African Media Program at Michigan State University is an excellent searchable, online database of almost 15,000 films, videos, and other audio-visual materials concerning Africa as well as education services about African media. Each film is fully described with information about language, country, and distributor.

 African Film Library is an initiative to preserve and distribute classic African films by M-Net. Copyright for over 600 films has already been acquired and these films are being in the process of being remastered. On the website you can identify films by country, genre, director and broad subject. Short portions of many of the films can be viewed and soon you will be able to rent films and view them on your computer.

Colonial Films. This website holds detailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies. Over 150 films are available for viewing online. You can search or browse for films by country, date, topic, or keyword. Over 350 of the most important films in the catalogue are presented with extensive critical notes.

 WorldCat, the world’s most comprehensive bibliographic database, includes videos. Use “Advanced Search” and limit type to “Visual Materials.” Use to identify videos and which libraries (including Emory) own copies.

African Films, Movies & Videos page of Africa South of the Sahara website (Stanford) offers links to distributors, film festivals, discussion lists  and other websites related to African film.

Audiovisual Research Archives  French site that includes international video-library that currently includes some 6524 hours of videos in the form of interactive video-books that publish interviews, special reports, courses and conferences, documentaries, recordings of performances and scenes from daily life.

National Geographic offers a number of full episodes and clips from their vaious programs online as does PBS. Check other channels and Hulu for other programmming.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322