Skip to main content

*African Studies Research Guide: Films: Books & Articles

Finding films about Africa at Emory and elsewhere plus finding articles and books about African films.

Sample Titles on African Films

PN1993.5 .A35 D5 1992 African Cinema: Politics and Culture by Manthia Diarwara


PN1995.9 .A43 B58 2007 Black and White in Colour: African History on Screen edited by Vivian Bickford-Smith and Richard Mendelsohn.


PN1992.934 .N6 N65 2005 Nollywood: le Phenomene Video au Nigeria by Pierre Barrot

Finding Books & Articles

General Guides to the Literature

 

Emory Film Studies Research Guide will help you locate books and articles about films generally as well as find film reviews and information on the film industry.

 

AFRICAN CINEMA AND AFRICAN CINEMATIC REPRESENTATION: A SELECTED BIBLIOGRAPHY/VIDEOGRAPHY OF MATERIALS IN UC BERKLEY Contains a bibliography of books and journals on African cinema generally and a second list on filmmaker Ousmane Sembene. Also includes reviews and articles about individual African films in the Media Resource Center.

 

African Film Resources from Harvard lists periodicals and print resources related to African films.

 
African Films, Movies & Videos page of Africa South of the Sahara website (Stanford) offers links to distributors, film festivals, discussion lists and other websites related to African film.
 
African Cinema & African Cinema II are extensive bibliographies of sources from African Studies Center, Leiden.
 
"Africa and the Moving Image," African Research and Documentation, No 110, Spring 2009, Special Issue. DT19.8 .A35 Based on 2009 conference, contains articles on films as history, using films in the classroom, preservation issues, and a list of important films for South African history.
 

"African Films in the Classroom"  by Josef Gugler, African Studies Review, (53:3) Dec 2010, 1-17 provides an important list of African films, resources, and bibliography for the entire continent.

 

THE NOLLYWOOD FILM INDUSTRY AND THE AFRICAN DIASPORA IN THE UK. A year long project completed in 2008 investigating Nollywood.  Has links to websites as well as bibliography of related literature.

 

South African Film and Video Project assists in preserving and making accessible moving images from the years of struggle against apartheid.
 
Of interest:  Audiovisual Audit Report 2010: The South African Liberation Struggle includes an extensive list of documentaries as well as film and video archives, sources for stock footage and other useful information. Available on the South African History Archive website.

 

 

Finding Journal Articles

 

 

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus (1972 to present)

Publisher description: “Indexes more than 300,000 articles from 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.” Includes full text access to selected journals

 

Use Emory Film Studies Research Guide as well as the Emory  African Studies Research Guide to locate other useful indexes.

 

Selected Books@ Emory

 

PN1993.5 .A35 S43 2011 África Nossa : o Império Colonial na Ficção Cinematográfica Portuguesa 1945-1974 by Jorge Seabra. Coimbra: Universidade de Coimbra. 2011

PN1995.9 .A43 C36 1994 Africa on Film: Beyond Black and White by Kenneth M. Cameron. New York: Continuum. 1994.

PN1993.5 .A35 T48 2003  Africa Shoots Back : Alternative Perspectives in Sub-Saharan Francophone African film by Melissa Thackway, Indiana University Press, Bloomington: 2003.

PN1993.5 .A35 D5 1992 African Cinema: Politics and Culture by Manthia Diarwara. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1992.

PN1993.5 .A35 D68 2009 African Film and Literature: Adapting Violence to the Screen by Lindiwe Dovey. New York:Columbia University Press, 2009.

PN1993.5 .A35 G77 2003 African Film: Re-Imagining a Continent by Josef Gugler. Bloomington, Indiana University Press, 2003.

PN1993.5 .A35 A75 2006 African Filmmaking North and South of the Sahara by Roy Armes. Bloomington, Indiana University Press, 2006.

PN 1992.934.A35 A35 2003 African Video Film Today  edited by Foluke Ogunleye.Academic Publishers, 2003.

PN1995.9 .A43 B58 2007 Black and White in Colour: African History on Screen edited by Vivian Bickford-Smith and Richard Mendelsohn. Oxford: James Currey, 2007.

PN1993.5 .S6 S35 2010 Cinema in a Democratic South Africa : the Race for Representation by Lucia Saks. Indiana University Press, 2010.

 
PN1993.5 .S6 T58 1989 Cinema of Apartheid, Race and Class in South African Film by Keyan Tomaselli. London: Routledge, 1989
 
PN1993.5 .S6 D48 2009 The Devil You Dance With : Film Culture in the New South Africa  by Audrey T. McCluskey. University of Illinois Press, 2009.
 

PN1993.5 .A35S48 1992 Dictionnaire du Cinema Africain. Paris: Karthala, 1992.

Ref. PN 1993.5 .A35S48 1992 Directory of African Film-Makers and Films by Keith Shiri. Westport: Greenwood Press. 1992

PN1993.5 .G7 F54 2011 Film and the End of Empire edited by Lee Grieveson and Colin MacCabe. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2011.

PN1993.5 .A35 F63 2004 Focus on African Films edited by Francoise Pfaff. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2004.

PN1993.5 .A35 F75 2009 Francophone African cinema : history, culture, politics and theory by Frindéthié, Martial K. (Martial Kokroa), McFarland, 2009.

PN1993.5.A35R87 1998 Guide to African Cinema by Sharon A. Russell. Westport: Greenwood Press, 1998.

Hollywood's Africa after 1994 [electronic resource] / edited by MaryEllen Higgins.

Athens : Ohio University Press 2012

PN1995.9 .S655D38 1996 In Darkest Hollywood: Exploring the Jungle's of Cinema's South Africa by Peter Davis. Randburg, South Africa: Raven Press, 1996

PN1993.5 .S6 M375 2007 Marginal Lives and Painful Pasts: South African Cinema after Apartheid by Martin Botha. Parklands: Genugtig!, 2007.

PN1993.5 .A35 S45 2004 Modernity and African Cinema by Femi Okiremuete Shaka. Trenton: Africa World Press. 2004

.
PN1992.934 .N6 N55 2000 Nigerian Video Films ed. by Jonathan Haynes. Athens: Ohio Univeristy Center for International Studies, 2000.
 
PN1993.5 .N6 H84 2009 Nollywood by Pieter Hugo. New York: Prestel. 2009.
 
PN1992.934 .N6 N65 2005 Nollywood: le Phenomene Video au Nigeria by Pierre Barrot. Paris: Harmatton, 2005.
 
P95.82 .A4 P67 2011 Popular Media, Democracy and Development edited by Herman Wasserman. London: Routledge. 2011.
 
PN1998.2 .M87 2007 Postcolonial African Cinema: Ten Directors by David Murphy and Patrick Williams. Manchaster: Manchester University Press. 2007.

 

PN1993.5 .A35 T35 2011 Postnationalist African Cinemas by  Alexie Tcheuyap. Manchester: Manchester University Press. 2011.

PN1993.5 .A35 U45 2002 Questioning African Cinema: Conversations with Filmmakers by Nwachukwu Frank Ukadike. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2002.

PN1995.9 .D6 M385 2010 Recording memories from political conflict : a film-maker's journey by Cahal McLaughlin. Intellect, 2010.

PN1993.5 .S63 B37 1996 South American cinema : a critical filmography, 1915-1994 by  Tim Barnard. Garland, 1996.

PN1993.5 .S6 M35 2007 South African National Cinema by Jacqueline Maingard. London;Routledge, 2007.
 
 

PN1992.5.A357S32 1994 Sub-Saharan African Films and Filmmakers, 1987-1992: An Annotated Bibliography by Nancy J. Schmidt. London: Hans Zell, 1994.

PN1993.5 .S6 T62 2003 To Change Reels: Films and Film Culture in South Africa. Detroit: Wayne State University, 2003.

 

PL8010 .T73 2009 Transcultural modernities : narrating Africa in Europe / edited by Elisabeth Bekers, Sissy Helff, and Daniela Merolla. Amsterdam ; New York : Rodopi 2009

 

CB235 .L46 1996 Videos of African and African-Related Performance: An Annotated Bibliography by Carol Lems-Dworkin. Evanston, Ill.: C. Lems-Dworkin Publishers, 1996.

 

PN1992.934 .N6 V54 2010 Viewing African Cinema in the Twenty-first Century : Art Films and the Nollywood Video Revolution by Mahir Saul. Ohio University Press, 2010.

 

African Men & Hollywood Stereotypes

A short video from the non-profit MamaHope contrasting the images of African men in Hollywood to the reality.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322