Skip to main content

*African Studies Research Guide: News: Digital News

A quick guide to print and digital sources of news on Africa, including African newspapers.

AllAfrica.com

AllAfrica.com Latest Headlines

Loading

BBC World News

RFI (Radio France International) Afrique

BBC Historic Archive Collections

BBC Historic Archive has assembled several collections related to Africa including Apartheid in South Africa featuring 22 news programs and a number of documents.

Le Monde Afrique

Le Monde Afrique is a French newspaper with an edition foucsed on Africa. 

Digital News Sources

Important Continent and Country Sources:

 

Also check under African Newspapers and General News  tabs for additional digital sources/news. Relevant sources can also be found through the Databases @emory.edu, "News sources" category.

TIP: When you search a digital news resource remember to adjust the dates you need. Most news databases default to the latest week/month only.

African Newspapers/News lists news sources by country. Also check out sources of current and historical photographs. From the excellent website Africa South of the Sahara .

SEE Also the survey of sub-SaharanAfrica digital newspapers done in 2013 to locate electronic versions of individual titles. The Center for Research Libraries conducted this survey in an attempt to identify and assess which African newspapers had online content available and formulate an agenda for the future CRL collection strategy.  It does not link to actual online newspapers.

Access World News includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts. Dates vary.


Africa Confidential. Semimonthly. v. 13, 1972- . DT1.A19. Latest year in Reference. Available electronically from 2004 but latest year is print only.

African Studies Center Library , University of Leiden has news, tweets, and blog feeds as well as TOC for selected African journals and new books. Refer to their useful "Find it guide" for information to narrow the search to periodicals. 

allAfrica.com provides current news from over 125 African media outlets, including newspapers, news agencies and publications all over the African continent. Also includes selected African-related reports, speeches, press releases and announcements from governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa. Includes the archive of the Africa News Service back to 1997. Emory users have access to the Premium/Advanced Search engine.

Al Jazeera English: Africa, Al Jazeera English is an international news channel based in the Arab world with over sixty bureaus around the world that span six different continents.

AP Archive is the film and digital video of the Associated Press with its worldwide coverage. Available through YouTube.  SEE ALSO its sister channel British Movietone which also provides historical news films. For AP photos see AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive (Emory Only) which includes historical photos back to 1840.

BBC World connects to the British Broadcasting's overseas news coverage which also has tabs for TV and radio. A separate Africa news page is available.

British Pathe allows you to preview items from the entire 3500 hour British Pathe Film Archive which covers news, sport, social history and entertainment from 1896 to 1970. Contains a good amount of news from Africa.

Factiva lets you quickly search nearly 8,000 publications from around the world (including Africa) in 22 languages. It includes the world's most prestigious publications and the Reuters and Dow Jones newswires. You can select "Source Category" and 'Publication by Region."

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Full-Text complements World News Connection below and covers 1941-1996.The Daily Reports include translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world, including Africa. They focus on political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world..

GlobalVoices Online is a community of over 300 "citizen activist" bloggers throughout the world including Africa. An important alternative source of news founded in 2005 by former CNN journalists. FAQ available.

Google News: Africa  Info on Google News

IRIN  from the United Nations focuses on humanitarian news from Africa.

Lexis/Nexis Academic is a major source for newspapers throughout the world, including Africa. You can limit your search by source.

New York Times, Africa, International News contains breaking news and opinion. Note "Times Topics: Find News by County" search box in upper right of page.

New York Times (1851-2006); more recent coverage via Lexis/Nexis Academic above.

Newsbank Access World News covers over 130 news sources from Africa. Select "World" and then "Africa" to limit to African sources.

Newspaper Map, a Google Map that has been annotated with sites from more than 10,000 worldwide news outlets including many from Africa. One click will take you to a news site, and you can choose which language you would like to read it in (e.g. Swahili to English), thanks to Google’s translation services. The site is the work of Great Name, a Web-development squad from Gothenburg, Sweden.

PanaPress, continent-wide news organization headquartered in Dakar.

PressDisplay provides online access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format.  The ever-expanding collection currently includes more than 1,700 U.S. and international titles —from 94 countries in 48 languages. Sub-saharan Africa titles are limited with the richest collection currently from South Africa.  Using Library PressDisplay is similar to reading the familiar print edition, viewers can browse articles and other key content, such as pictures, advertisements, classifieds, and notices. The service also provides up to a 60-day backfile and the ability to perform keyword searches across all titles and the entire backfile. Note there are five simultaneous users for this database

Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. Includes coverage of African developments such apartheid in South Africa which were featured on US news.

The Times Digital Archive (1785-1985) is the digital archive of the Times (London), an important paper with significant coverage of African affairs. The database is searchable full text, including advertisements and photographs, back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. More recent years of the Times (London) are searchable on Lexis-Nexis.

World Newspaper Archive, is an initiative from the Center for Research Libraries (CRL). It currently included the full text of 43 newpapers representing 14 African countries. Coverage ends in 1922. When you reach database, select "Place of Publication" and then "Africa." Phase 2, digitizing African papers from 1798 to 1900 is currently underway.

World News Connection is a foreign news service from the U.S. Government that offers translated and English-language news and information. Includes the local media sources in foreign countries and regions, including Africa. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events . Goes back to 1994. Complemented by Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Full-Text complements World News Connection and covers 1941-1996..

 

The general index, Africa-Wide:NiPAD, covers news sources as well journals and other resources.

There are also a growing number of news websites with links to news sources for individual countries (like African Newspapers/News of Africa South of the Sahara). Usually these are organized by continent/country, e.g. ABYZ News Links which includes newspapers, broadcast stations, press agencies, etc. Click here for more information.

Latest Reports on Africa from Docuticker

Source of free high-quality reports from government agencies, NGO's, think tanks and others related to Africa.

Loading

Global Voices: Latest Topics for Africa

Loading

Google News: Africa

Loading
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322