Skip to main content

*African Studies Research Guide: News: African Newspapers

A quick guide to print and digital sources of news on Africa, including African newspapers.

African Newspapers in Print or Microfilm

Identifying and Locating

 

Cooperative African Newspapers Project (Center for Research Libraries) includes African Newspapers Union List (AFRINUL), a centralized electronic database of holdings information for newspapers (all formats and all languages) published in sub-Saharan Africa. AFRINUL currently consolidates holdings information for collections in North America, and will later expand to include holdings in Africa, Europe, and elsewhere. Newspapers held by the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) are available for extended loans to Emory borrowers. A plan to digitize the CRL collection of international newspapers has been recently announced. Check CRL site for updates.

The British Library also has extensive collections of African newspapers, especially from the former colonies.Search the Library's integrated newspaper catalog to locate specific papers.

Library of Congress Newspaper and Current periodical Reading Room provides access to the largest collection of overseas newspapers in the world. The newspapers page provides links to databases of current foreign papers as well as historic collections. Microfilm collections are available via inter-library loan with a 6 reel at a time limit.

South Africa, the early years of apartheid [microform] : South African press digests, 1949-1972
140 microfiches. ] Microfiche 1487. with guide.
.Weekly typed Digests compiled from daily summaries of all of South Africa's principal newspapers and magazines (both in English and Afrikaans). Read and prepared by the South African Jewish Board of Deputies. Covering the first 24 years of Apartheid. In English.

The Woodruff Library Newspaper List gives information on newspapers the library holds in paper or microform. Note Foreign Newspaper tab.

Other Lists:

The Black press in South Africa and Lesotho : a descriptive bibliographic guide to African, coloured, and Indian newspapers, newsletters, and magazines, 1836-1976. Switzer, Les and Donna. 1989. Z6960 .S6 S94

 

HINT: Historical newspapers are being digitized at a rapid pace.  If you don't see a digital version of a paper today, keep checking.

 

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322