Skip to main content

*African Studies Research Guide: News: More Country Information on Press & Press Freedom

A quick guide to print and digital sources of news on Africa, including African newspapers.

World Press

More Information

 

Information on Press and Papers of Individual Countries 

 

  • Benn's Media
    Reference Desk Z6941 .B45 (current edition)
    Divided into three volumes v. 1 United Kingdom, v. 2 Europe, and v. World. Includes contact information, date established, content, readership, frequency, and circulation. Back issues in stacks under call number Z6941 .B45 (1992- ). Back issues for United Kingdom also located in Stacks under call number Z6956 .E5 M62 (1986-1991).
  • Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
    Reference Desk Z6951 .A97 (current edition)
    Volume 5 is devoted to international information. Contains contact information and description of the media listed alphabetically by country. Back issues in Stacks under call number Z6951 .A 97. Earlier editions are entitled Ayer Directory.
  • Media Development: Country Profiles (Center for International Media Assistance) Data drawn from a variety of sources including IREX's Media Sustainablity Index, Fredom House's Freedom of the Presss Index, and Reporters Without Borders' Press Freedom Index. Also information from the Committee to Protect Journalists.
    data is drawn primarily from IREX's Media Sustainability Index, Freedom House's Freedom of the Press index, and Reporters Without Borders's Press Freedom Index. While these indexes measure different aspects of press freedom, by including each of them, we hope to provide a more complete picture of the media in each country. Also included in these summaries is data from the Committee to Protect Journalists as well as news updates from IFEX. - See more at: http://cima.ned.org/tools-and-resources/country-profiles#sthash.HpACTbst.dpuf
    data is drawn primarily from IREX's Media Sustainability Index, Freedom House's Freedom of the Press index, and Reporters Without Borders's Press Freedom Index. While these indexes measure different aspects of press freedom, by including each of them, we hope to provide a more complete picture of the media in each country. Also included in these summaries is data from the Committee to Protect Journalists as well as news updates from IFEX. - See more at: http://cima.ned.org/tools-and-resources/country-profiles#sthash.HpACTbst.dpuf
    data is drawn primarily from IREX's Media Sustainability Index, Freedom House's Freedom of the Press index, and Reporters Without Borders's Press Freedom Index. While these indexes measure different aspects of press freedom, by including each of them, we hope to provide a more complete picture of the media in each country. Also included in these summaries is data from the Committee to Protect Journalists as well as news updates from IFEX. - See more at: http://cima.ned.org/tools-and-resources/country-profiles#sthash.HpACTbst.dpuf
    data is drawn primarily from IREX's Media Sustainability Index, Freedom House's Freedom of the Press index, and Reporters Without Borders's Press Freedom Index. While these indexes measure different aspects of press freedom, by including each of them, we hope to provide a more complete picture of the media in each country. Also included in these summaries is data from the Committee to Protect Journalists as well as news updates from IFEX. - See more at: http://cima.ned.org/tools-and-resources/country-profiles#sthash.HpACTbst.dpuf
  • Willings Press Guide
    Reference Desk Z6956 .E5 W5 (current edition)
    Divided into two volumes United Kingdom (volume 1) and International (non-UK) (volume 2). Comprehensive coverage of UK media, both print and broadcast, and print sources for non-UK countries. Back issues in Stacks under call number Z6956 .E5 W5.
  • World Press Encyclopedia, 2nd edition
    Reference PN4735 .W67 2003
    Provides narrative essays on press of "232 countries and/pr territories." Arranged alphabetically by country, each entry also included brief statistics and a bibliography. The first edition is available in the Stacks under call number PN4735 .W6 1982.

 

data is drawn primarily from IREX's Media Sustainability Index, Freedom House's Freedom of the Press index, and Reporters Without Borders's Press Freedom Index. While these indexes measure different aspects of press freedom, by including each of them, we hope to provide a more complete picture of the media in each country. Also included in these summaries is data from the Committee to Protect Journalists as well as news updates from IFEX. - See more at: http://cima.ned.org/tools-and-resources/country-profiles#sthash.HpACTbst.dpuf

 

For more information check the Journalism Research Guide

Subject Librarian

Phil MacLeod's picture
Phil MacLeod
Contact:
Philip S. MacLeod

pmacleo@emory.edu

Bibliographer for Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Luso-Hispanic Studies, African Studies and Comparative Literature

Robert W. Woodruff Library

Emory University

540 Asbury Circle

Atlanta, GA 30322

Tel.404-727-0150
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322