Skip to main content

Criminology & Miscarriage of Justice: Web Sites

Reviews reference books, databases and web sites dealing with criminology and miscarriage of justice including capital punishment.

Capital Punishment: Italy

Nov. 29, 2012,  the Roman Colosseum is lit to honor Connecticut's abolition of the death penalty.

In Italy feelings against capital punishment run high.  The Roman Colosseum is lit up when any jurisdiction abolishes the death penalty or prisoner is executed.

Internet Resources

General Criminology

National Criminal Justice Reference Center Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

Criminology Links
http://www.crim.cam.ac.uk/library/links A collection of links to Internet resources relating to criminology, part of the University of Cambridge's Institute of Criminology, and maintained by the Radzinowicz Library. The links are indexed according to broad subject area within the field of criminology.

Social Science Information Gateway: Criminology
http://sosig.esrc.bris.ac.uk/roads/subject-listing/World-cat/crim.html Provides access to hundreds of criminal justice sources on the Internet. Each source has been evaluated and categorized by type (e.g., articles, databases, discussion groups, etc.)

 

Miscarriage of Justice Sites:

 

Actual Innocence Awareness Database, located at the University of Texas School of Law, provides a listing of United States resources in the area of wrongful convictions. Includes popular media (such as newspaper articles and segments which aired on television news magazines), journal articles, books, reports, legislation and websites. The materials are classified into what are considered the primary causes of wrongful conviction: forensics/DNA; eyewitness identification; false confessions; jailhouse informants; police and/or prosecutorial misconduct; and ineffective representation.

American Judicature Society Commission on Forensic Science and Public Policy promotes research in forensic science as well as the adoption of forensic standards, guidelines and best practices.

Death Penalty Information Center (DPIC) is an important site which covers the latest news, legislation, statistics and literature on topics related to capital punishment including lethal injection. Has specialized pages on what the religious community says about the death penalty, links for students debating capital punishment, a page on women who have received the death penalty, and reports on the characteristics of death row inmates. DPIC maintains an searchable Execution Database iincluding facts on all executions since 1976.

Equal Justice Initiative, an Alabama based group  that provides legal representation to indigent defendants and prisoners who have been denied fair and just treatment in the legal system. Alabama has the highest death sentence rate in the country. Website contains a large section on death penalty. Useful links also found under"resources" tab.

Human Rights: Death Penalty An extensive collection of links.

Innocence Project, located at Benjamin N. Cordoza School of Law at Yeshiva University in New York City, is a national litigation and public policy organization dedicated to exonerating wrongfully convicted people through DNA testing and reforming the criminal justice system to prevent future injustice. Contains a state-by-state review of causes of wrongful conviction, exonerations and proposed reforms plus a quarterly newsletter and a blog which review current cases and news as well as useful links including the Georgia Innocence Project. Published 250 Exonerated:  Too Many Wrongfully Convicted (2010) and other reports.

 

National Registry of Exonerations (University of Michigan Law School) The National Registry of Exonerations is a project of the University of Michigan Law School. It was founded in 2012 in conjunction with the Center on Wrongful Convictions at Northwestern University School of Law. The Registry provides detailed information about every known exoneration in the United States since 1989—cases in which a person was wrongly convicted of a crime and later cleared of all the charges based on new evidence of innocence.In addition to the website the Center produces annual reports with statistics by state and selected crime and demographic information.

 

New York Times' Capital Punishment topic provides a number of useful links.

 

Also:

Death Penalty Worldwide (Cornell University School of Law) The database is the centerpiece of the Death Penalty Worldwide project. It is intended to provide detailed and transparent information regarding the application of the death penalty in law and in practice in every country that retains it.

 

"Free and Uneasy: Long Road Back after Exoneration," New York Times, Nov. 25,2007 is a special web feature featuring information and audio interviews with 137 individuals who have been exonerated in the United States since 1989. (Search NYTimes archive if link does not work) Based on the records of the Innocence project.

Justice Denied, the Magazine for the Wrongly Convicted includes a database of over 2,000 wrongly convicted people from throughout the world and a database of literature of books articles and films on the wrongly convicted.

The Justice Project is a nonpartisan organization "dedicated to fighting injustice and to creating a more humane and just world." Their National Agenda for Reform offers recommendations for improvements in eight specific areas, including eyewitness identification, custodial interrogation, use of jailhouse snitch testimony, and expanded discovery laws.

Life after Exoneration Program's mission is to address the injustice of wrongful conviction and incarceration by assisting exonerees and their family members in re-building their lives.

 

Truth in Justice is an educational non-profit organized to educate the public regarding the vulnerabilities in the U. S. criminal justice system that make the criminal conviction of wholly innocent persons possible. Organizes links to relevant cases by broad subject, e.g. "eyewitness testimony."


Voice of Witness series allows those most affected by contemporary social injustice to speak for themselves. Excerpt's from their SURVIVING JUSTICE AMERICA’S WRONGFULLY CONVICTED AND EXONERATED are on the website.

 

Watch CNN's Death Row Stories, a series of six documentaries (2014).

 

Of Interest: For very short descriptions, check out Understanding Criminal Theories.

 


 


 

Subject Librarian

Nidia Bañuelos's picture
Nidia BaƱuelos
Contact:
540 Asbury Circle
Atlanta, GA 30322
404-727-6953
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322