Skip to main content

Women's Gender, and Sexuality Studies Research Guide: Finding Journal Articles

This is a general overview of resources in the field.

Selected Journal List

Feminist Collection
Available through Contemporary Women's Issues.

Feminist Formations(Continuation of NWSA Journal)

Feminist Review
HQ1154 .F4465

Feminist Studies: FS
HQ1101 .F455

Feminist Theory

HQ1190 .F465

Gender & History
HQ1101 .G46

Gender & Society
HQ1075 .G457

Hypatia
HQ1101 .H9
Formerly published under the title Women's Studies International Forum
HQ1101 .W775 (v. 5-v.29, 1982-2006)  Now a separate journal.

Journal of Women's History
HQ1101 .J68

NWSA Journal
HQ1186 .U6 N87

Sex Roles
HQ786 .S4  (v.1-v.55, 1975-2006)

Signs: Journal of Women in Culture & Society
HQ1101 .S55

TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly
E-only 

Woman's Art Journal
N72 .F45W64

Women & Politics
HQ1236 .W63  (v.1-v.26, 1980-2004)

Continued as Journal of Women, Politics & Policy

HQ1236 .W63

Women's Review of Books
Micfilm 1635

Current issues shelved in Current Periodicals until replaced by microfilm.

Women's Studies
HQ1101 .W77  (v.1-v.28, 1972-1999)

NEW! BrowZine

Excellent Places to Start

Women's Studies International
1972-present

Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies up to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Nearly 800 sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.

Gender Watch

Coverage varies
GenderWatch is a full text database of diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch provides a historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports.

Contemporary Women's Issues
1992 to the present
Provides full-text access to global information on women. Journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies are easily accessed through CWI.

Social Sciences Librarian

Jennifer Elder's picture
Jennifer Elder
Contact:
Librarian for Psychology, Journalism, & Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies

Emory University

Robert W. Woodruff Library

404-712-2833
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322