Skip to main content

Women's Gender, and Sexuality Studies Research Guide: Finding Articles in Full-Text Databases

This is a general overview of resources in the field.

Multi-discipline Databases

JSTOR
JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics. JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

Project Muse
Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

Women's History Primary-Source Databases

Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online

Coverage: 1543-1945
The greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages. This online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms.

North American Women's Diaries & Letters

Coverage:  Colonial-1950

Includes the immediate experiences of some 200 women, as revealed in more than 28,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection includes one of the most comprehensive bibliographies of women's diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 2,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources, including online resources and microform.

Women & Social Movements

Coverage: 1600-2000

resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding. Women & Social Movements includes thousands of primary source and secondary source materials, plus documentary projects, reference and teaching tools, and subject, author, and image indexes.

Social Sciences Librarian

Jennifer Elder's picture
Jennifer Elder
Contact:
Librarian for Psychology, Journalism, & Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies

Emory University

Robert W. Woodruff Library

404-712-2833
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322