Skip to main content

Women's Gender, and Sexuality Studies Research Guide: Locating Biographical Information

This is a general overview of resources in the field.

Online Resources

Biography in Context
A database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Combines biographies from Gale Group biographical sources such as Biography and Genealogy Master Index and nearly one million biographies from Marquis Who's Who publications. In-depth profiles, thumbnail sketches, and full-text journal articles are included.

For other suggestions, see the full listing of resources available to locate biographical information.

 

Biography Reference Bank

Includes Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, Current Biography, the Junior Authors & Illustrators Series, the Wilson biographical series on world artists, authors, composers, nobel prize winners, songwriters, musicians, film directors, american reformers. In addition to this list, Biography Reference Bank contains links to every article on any individual�full text articles, abstracts, book review excerpts, and more�from the periodicals covered by H.W. Wilson databases.

Suggested Biographical Print Materials for Women's Studies

For book-length biographies

Search discoverE by subject’s name, biography

Biographies of American Women: An Annotated Bibliography
Reference Z7963 .B6S88 1990

Black Women in America

Reference E185.86 .B542 2005 (3 vols.)

Great Lives from History: American Women Series
Reference HQ1412 .G74 1995 (5 vols.)

Women in World History: a Biographical Encyclopedia

Reference HQ1115 .W6 1999 (17 vols.)

Social Sciences Librarian

Jennifer Elder's picture
Jennifer Elder
Contact:
Librarian for Psychology, Journalism, & Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies

Emory University

Robert W. Woodruff Library

404-712-2833
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322