Skip to main content

Israel From the Palestine Mandate to the Present: A Research Guide: Background Information

Historical and Biographical

Encyclopaedia Judaica. 2nd ed .

The second edition of this great reference work updates both articles and bibliographies and includes new topics.

 

Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli conflict: a political, social and military history
Reference DS119.7 .E5653 2008

 

Encyclopedia of the Palestinians (2005)
 DS113.6 .E53 2005

Covers the period of Ottoman Rule, the British Mandate, and the years after 1948 with emphasis on the twentieth century.

Entsiklopedyah le-halutse ha-yishuv u-vonav 19 volumes (1947-1979)
 DS151 .A2 T53 1947 

Online: http://www.tidhar.tourolib.org/

A collection of biographies of early Jewish settlers in Palestine and the State of Israel.

Current Events

 

EIU Country Reports

By the Economist Intelligence Unit, this database reports on Israeli (and other countrys') political, business and economic conditions.

Europa World Plus 

Provides statistics, names of officials, addresses (including email and URL's) of government offices, media, business organizations and more.  Especially valuable for its coverage of "Recent History" which provides an excellent summary of the events of the past ten to fifteen years.  Both the Recent History section and the summary of Economic Conditions are found under "Country Profile."  We also have print editions of this (titled Europa Year Book) going back to 1960 at (stacks) D2. E821.

Library of Congress Country Studies: Israel

Primary focus is on history, economic and social conditions, and political and diplomatic matters. Please note the date at the bottom of each section. The 1970 and 1979 editions of this title are available in the Government Documents collection on the ground floor with the call number D101.6/6:I85/x/....

The Middle East and North Africa (1948 to present)
Reference DS49 .M5

The latest edition is in Reference, earlier ones in the stacks. This title provides an excellent synopsis of political and economic events over the past ten to fifteen years. It also provides statistics, members of the government, names of political parties and leaders and other information. Similar data is provided by the Europa World Yearbook (Reference Desk D2 .E821 and stacks back to 1960), by the same publisher. The latest edition is now on line as Europa World.

Atlases

Atlas Karta le-tiyur Yisra'el (1995)
Reference Atlas G2236 .P2 K295 1995

A road atlas of Israel.

Atlas of Israel 3rd edition (1985)
Folio Reference Atlas G2235 .I77 1985

The national atlas of Israel. This third edition is based on 1985 boundries. Compare with the first edition of 1955-1964, Atlas Yisra'el (Folio Reference Atlas G2235 .I8), based on 1949 boundries.

Atlas of Jewish History (1994)
Reference Atlas G1030 .C559 1994

Covers all periods of Jewish history with the last chapter dealing with modern Israel.

Atlas of Modern Jewish History (1990)
Reference Atlas G1030 .F6513 1990

Concentrates on the twentieth century.

Dent Atlas of Jewish History (1993)
Reference Atlas G1030 .G45 1993b

Covers all periods of Jewish history.

The New Israel Atlas (1968)
Reference Atlas G2235 .V52

This is a geographical, thematic and historical atlas.

The Routledge Atlas of the Arab-Israeli Conflict (2012)
G2236 .S1 G52 2012

Subject Guide

Tarina Rosen's picture
Tarina Rosen
Contact:
Woodruff Library
Emory University
Atlanta, Ga. 30322

Phone: 404 727-1583
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322