Skip to main content

Israel From the Palestine Mandate to the Present: A Research Guide: Locating Articles

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

Databases

Start with these Databases

Historical Abstracts (1955 to present)

Covers world history with the exception of North America from 1450 to the present. Searches may be limited to a particular century or decade using the "Time Period" limiter.

Index to Articles in Jewish Studies (RAMBI) (1966 to present)

Indexes an extraordinary number of scholarly journals carrying articles on Judaica broadly defined. Articles may be in English, Western European languages or Hebrew.


Other important Databases

Access UN (1948 to present)

Indexes UN periodicals and provides access to UN publications and documents.

Columbia International Affairs Online (1991 to present)

A collection of working papers, conference papers and research studies relating to international affairs

Factiva (coverage varies; earliest is 1971 to present)

Full-text coverage of over 8000 business and news publications in 22 languages. Excellent for country political and economic conditions.

Index Islamicus (1906 to present)

A vast index of articles, essays and books relating to Islam, North Africa and the Middle East. It has good coverage of Mandate Palestine and Israeli topics. 

Index to Hebrew Periodicals (1977 to present)

Indexes articles from Hebrew periodicals, collections and some monographs. Has content in Hebrew and English most of which is not indexed in RAMBI. Also has a Hebrew interface.

Index to Jewish Periodicals (1988 to present)

An author and subject index to selected English language journals of general and scholarly interest.

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (ca. 1990 to present)

Contains the complete text of some 1400 newspapers and periodicals. Dates of coverage for individual titles vary but none earlier than 1969.

PAIS International (1915 to present)

This index/bibliography lists articles from magazines, journals and newspapers, books, government documents and research reports issued by non-governmental organizations, think-tanks, and international organizations.

 

.

Subject Guide

Tarina Rosen's picture
Tarina Rosen
Contact:
Woodruff Library
Emory University
Atlanta, Ga. 30322

Phone: 404 727-1583
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322