Skip to main content

Anthropology Research Guide

Ethnographic Information

Anthropological Fieldwork Online
This fully indexed, primary-source database documents the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective with archival collections from North America, Europe, and the Asian Pacific including field notebooks, images, and recordings from the early- to mid-20th century.

Anthropology Online
A full-text database of published ethnographies, memoirs, archival material, and selected images. Geographic coverage is global and all aspects of human behavior are covered including kinship, family, race, marriage, gender, material culture, religion, conflict resolution, economic systems, and more.

eHRAF World Cultures
A cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of ethnographic and other documents (including books, journal articles, and dissertations) on all aspects of cultural and social life. The information is organized and searchable by cultures/ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. It is great for cross-cultural comparisons of customs and beliefs of groups all over the world.

Useful Emory Websites

A great place to start: Emory's guide to Data Resources and Support is a collection of links to data sources and help for commonly used statistical packages (e.g. R, SAS, SPSS, Stata). Links to data sources are organized by subjects such as Health, Environment, Criminal Justice, Social Indicators, Census & Demography, and International Trade.

General Population Indicators

International Health Data

Population and Longitudinal Datasets

US Statistics

Cancer Statistics Review (CSR)--This site is hosted by the National Cancer Institute. The Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results database (SEER) allows access to numerous cancer statistics and databases as well as to some limited online analysis.

CDC The website for the CDC includes a section devoted to data and statistics at both the national and state levels. The CDC's A-Z topic index is also useful for locating quantitative information on particular topics.

CDC Wonder is a portal to numerous studies concerning health-related topics such as AIDS/STDs, risk behaviors (the Behavioral Risk Surveillance System), mortality and natality statistics. There are several online data tools as well as a link to the SEER database.

NCHS (National Center for Health Statistics, a part of the CDC) The three links below are some of the more useful links on the NCHS site:

  • FASTSTATS A to Z (stats by subject and by state)
  • Surveys and Data Collection Systems (ongoing/periodic suverys etc. collected by NCHS)
  • NHIS Survey (National Health Interview Survey) is the principal source of information on the health of the civilian noninstitutionalized population of the United States and is one of the major data collection programs of the NCHS.

National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG)--The NSFG is an on-going survey series focusing on matters of family history and reproductive history (e.g. marital history, childbirth, usage of contraceptives) as well as more general matters such as employment history and demographics. The latest wave of the NSFG is also available on CD-ROM in the Data Center. Older waves are also available via the Social Science Electronic Data Library and in harmonized form via the Integrated Fertility Survey Series.

Georgia Division of Public Health is an excellent source for public health data as it relates specifically to the state of Georgia.

USDA Data Services

Archaeological Data

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322