Banner Image

Civil War Research Guide (MARBL): Introduction

This guide provides descriptions of manuscript collections related to the Civil War organized by topic.
About MARBL

Visit MARBL's website

Emory University's Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library (MARBL) holds over 200,000 printed volumes, over 1,200 manuscript collections, photographs, motion picture film, audio recordings, and other visual media. Its renowned collections span more than 800 years of human history—with a special focus on modern literature, African American history, and the history of Georgia and the South. Everyone is welcome to use MARBL collections: students, scholars, visiting researchers, and the general public.

Using this research guide

Detail from a photograph taken near Richmond, Virginia, when a group of wives and sisters visited their relatives at a Confederate camp

 

This guide provides descriptions of manuscript collections relating to the Civil War organized by topic or format but is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections. It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas. Approximately one-third of Emory University's Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library's (MARBL) manuscript holdings contain materials relating to the Civil War. Most collections appear under more than one category. In addition to the collections described here, MARBL houses over 3,000 Confederate imprints, including books, newspapers, broadsides, and sheet music printed in the Confederate States of America.  To supplement this guide, you may wish to search our catalogs to locate additional materials:

Find Manuscripts and Archives
This database searches detailed descriptions of manuscript collections, which are called finding aids. Finding aids generally include a description of the collection's creator and contents and a box and folder list. The database includes finding aids for unprocessed collections.

Find Books and More
The Emory Libraries Catalog contains records for the majority of materials held in MARBL and the other university libraries, including rare books, manuscript collections and archives, microforms, and audiovisual materials.

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL. Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. In addition, some collections have access restrictions. Researchers are encouraged to contact MARBL to insure that materials will be available. We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.

Revised editions of this guide will be forthcoming as new collections are accessioned and as material in existing collections is located and identified.

Ask a Question

E-mail: marbl@emory.edu

Phone: 404-727-6887

In Person: Woodruff Library, 7th floor
Directions

MARBL is open:
By appointment only, Monday-Friday, 9:00-5:00, Saturday 10:00-4:00
Holidays & Closings

Planning Your Research Visit to MARBL

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL. Some collections are located in an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. To ensure your timely accessibility to our collections on and off-site, we appreciate advance notice of the collections you intend to view.

We are happy to assist you as you prepare for your research visit. If you have any questions about our collections, questions regarding MARBL's researcher policies, and/or would like to request materials to be on hold for your research visit, please email marbl@emory.edu to the attention of Research Services.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322