Skip to main content

Italian Studies Research Guide: Citing Your Sources

Italian Studies Research Guide

Writing Center

Emory's Writing Center offers personalized one-to-one support for writing assignments. Sessions with tutors are available by appointment or during walk-in hours. 

Zotero

Zotero helps you collect, manage, and cite research sources. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies using Word or Open Office.

EndNote

EndNote is a program that makes it possible to collect and organize references in a database and instantly create properly formatted bibliographies.

Style Guides

The Citing Your Sources research guide provides information on why you should cite your sources, plagiarism and how to avoid common mistakes, as well as a list of style manuals. A selected list of style manuals are listed below.

The Chicago Manual of Style Online
Also in print: 16th ed. Z253 .U69 2010 Reference Desk

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 7th ed.
In print: LB2369 .G53 2009 Reference Desk
See the Purdue Online Writing Lab MLA Formatting and Style Guide for some online help.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 6th ed.
In print: BF76.7 .P83 2010 Reference Desk
See the Purdue Online Writing Lab APA Formatting and Style Guide for some online help.

Evaluating Sources

Questions to ask:

  • Have you used a variety of sources?
    • Compare and contrast the information you find with several authors and and array of sources such as books, Emory dissertations, journal articles, and studies.
    • Comparing and contrasting the information will help you in identifying any bias and enhance the validity and reliability of your research.
  • What are the author's qualifications and affiliation (i.e., where does the author work)?
  • What is the date of the publication? Is the information out-of-date for your topic?
  • Who's published it? Is it a university press -- in which case the material is more likely to be scholarly -- or a well-known publisher?
  • Is the information valid and well-researched? That is, are the author's ideas supported with research documented by footnotes, a bibliography, and/or a works cited page?

The "Five Criteria" used for evaluating WWW sites, can be used when evaluating information from any source (magazine articles, books, newspaper articles, etc.)

Plagiarism

Using the work of another scholar without proper citation, whether that work is available in print or online, is plagiarism, a violation of the Emory Honor Code. See the Citing your Sources guide for more information.

Contact Us

Phil MacLeod's picture
Phil MacLeod
Contact:
Philip S. MacLeod

pmacleo@emory.edu

Bibliographer for Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Luso-Hispanic Studies, African Studies and Comparative Literature

Robert W. Woodruff Library

Emory University

540 Asbury Circle

Atlanta, GA 30322

Tel.404-727-0150
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322