Skip to main content

Italian Studies Research Guide: Reference Resources

Italian Studies Research Guide

Reference Encyclopedias

The Cambridge companion to modern Italian culture. (2001)
DG451 .C35 2001

An excellent source covering various aspects of Italian culture.

Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature. (1980)
PN771 .C575 1980

Covers the period from the end of the 19th century to the 1970's. Survey articles discuss authors, genres, and literary movements in each of the European national literatures while most of the studies focus on individual authors. A select bibliography concludes each article.

Enciclopedia Italiana di Scienze, Lettere ed Arti. (1929 to 1961)
Reference AE35 .E5
Enciclopedia Italiana di Scienze, Lettere ed Arti. Appendice 2000.
Reference AE35 .E5 2000
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism. (2005)
Reference PN81 .J554 2005

Concentrates on the twentieth century, while not neglecting earlier periods, this work offers articles on important critics and theorists, schools and movements, and national and topical specialities.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama. (1984)
PN1625 .M3

Provides international coverage of drama from ancient times to the present but emphasizes dramatists of English-speaking nations and those of Western and Eastern Europe.

The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics. (1993)
Reference Desk PN1021 .N39 1993

This is an outstanding reference work that covers the history, theory, technique and criticism of poetry. It is universal in scope.

Oxford Companion to Italian Literature. (2002)
Reference PQ4006 .O84 2002

Dictionaries

Dizionario Enciclopedico Italiano. (1955 to 1961)
Reference AE35 .D5

Italian Prose Writers, 1900-1945. (2002)
PQ4057 .I734 2002

A bio-bibliography of Italian writers.

Dissertations

Dissertation Abstracts. (1938 - present)
Z5055 .U6 A1 (Current issues in stacks; earlier volumes in storage)

An online version Dissertations and Theses (formerly Dissertation Abstracts) covers 1861 to present, but abstracts of dissertations before 1980 are only available in the print version.

Index to Theses Accepted for Higher Degrees in the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland. (1950/51 - 1966 now available electronically)
Z5055 .G69 A8 (In Storage)

An annual, then quarterly, classified list of both M.A. and Ph.D. theses with subject and author indexes

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322