Skip to main content

Spanish and Portuguese Language & Literature: Spanish Article Databases

Databases for Iberian & Latin American Topics

MLA International Bibliography  1963 to present  THE FIRST STOP FOR RESEARCH IN LITERATURE.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (OLDO) Fully searchable, comprehensive bilingual (English) Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish dictionaries. Also includes unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.

Bibliografia de la Literatura espanolaThis database is a comprehensive bibliography that covers monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, bibliographies, congress proceedings, and other miscellaneous material in wide variety of subjects: literary theory, literary genres, popular literature, Hispanism, bibliographies, and authors. The database features not only editions of their works, but also translated editions and critical studies.

Chicano Database  The Chicano Database is a comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for and about Chicanos. Updated quarterly, the Chicano Database provides extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

Clase  is a combined periodical index produced at the National Autonomous University of Mexico. Articles, essays, book reviews and other information are indexed from journals published in 24 Latin American and Caribbean countries as well as publications with a Pan-American focus. Subject coverage includes the humanities and social sciencesThis database does not provide links to the full-text of articles.

COMPLUDOC  Article database done by the Biblioteca de la Universidad Complutense de Madrid. Citations only.

CSIC Base de datos Bibliográfica - Lingua y Literatura Direct link to Spain's Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas database for Language and Literature. This database currently indexes over 200 periodical published in Spain. This database allows keyword searching and ONLY provides article citations.

Dialnet  A table of contents index from the Universidad de La Rioja that provides citations for journals published in Spain. Includes journals with Latin American content. Searching does NOT include subject headings or descriptors. Some citations include link to full-text of article.

Digitalia  Digitalia offers a large catalog of e-book titles from Spanish publishers and selected magazines in digital format. The resource has an interface in English and Spanish. Digitalia contains collections in following subject areas  Architecture & sculpture -- Arts in general -- Film studies -- Painting & decorative arts -- Bibliographies -- Biography -- Encyclopedias & dictionaries -- Anthropology -- Environmental sciences -- Folklore & popular culture -- Geography -- Physical geography -- Travel, recreation & sports -- History -- English, French, Germanic, Greek-Latin, Italian, Spanish literature and language -- Linguistics & philology -- Literary history -- Literary theory -- Poetry, general -- Dance -- Music -- Theatre & drama -- Mythology -- Philosophy and ethics -- Pyschology -- Religion(s) -- Colonies & colonization -- Emigration and immigration -- Law -- Political science -- Engineering -- Medicine -- Sciences -- Technology & agriculture -- Biology and natural sciences -- Cultural studies -- Economics and business -- Education -- Gender and women's studies -- Media studies -- Social sciences -- Statistics.

Fuente académica  is a periodical index of scholarly journals from Spain and Latin America with links to the full-text of all articles. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. Includes a few titles in Portuguese and English.

Handbook of Latin American Studies Volumes 1 (1936) through 49 (1989)

Handbook of Latin American Studies Volume 50 (1990) onward  HLAS is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources

HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index  Indexes primarily Spanish language journals and magazines. Covers all areas of study.

Informe!  Provides access current full-text, Spanish language and bilingual magazines. Covers cultural and social issues, politics, current events, and other topics of general interest.

JSTOR  This databases provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history economics political science demography mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Most articles are in English, but there are a good number of Spanish language articles.

La Guerra Civil Espanola  Reproduction of originals from from the Herbert Rutledge Southworth Collection on the Spanish Civil War.  Included are publications by Republicans, Falangists, Catholics, anarchists, communists, socialists,agrarian reformers, and regional political parties, as well as Spanish exiles and partisans outside Spain.

Latin American Newsstand ; Latin American Newsstand is a full-text database of over 35 leading newspaper titles from Latin America (including Brazil and Puerto Rico). Also included are regional magazines and wire services. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly so that the database is cross-searchable. Citations are available for articles in all the source publications. Abstracts allow researchers to save time by allowing them to identify the complete articles they need. Full-text articles are also instantly accessible for all of the titles.

Latino Literature 19th century to present A full-text collection of U.S. Latino literature. When complete, it will include 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry and 450 plays, representing the Chicano culture and all the different ethnicities of Latin American writers with a Hispanic background working in the United States. Although the collection includes materials from the 19th century, the vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano Renaissance to the present.

Life and Times of Jorge Luis Borges  World's largest collection of materials related to Borges' life and works. Includes full text of Borges' early contributions to serials publications. Collection is based on the Jorge Luis Borges Collection and Documentation Center of the Fundación San Telmo in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Linguistic Bibliography on Line  covers all disciplines of theoretical linguistics, both general and language specific, from all geographical areas, including less-known and extinct languages, with particular attention to the many endangered languages of the world. Up-to-date information is guaranteed by the collaboration of some forty contributing specialists from all over the world. .

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts  Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

Literature Online Offers searchable, full text library of poetry, drama, and prose fiction (17th-century to present), as well as works of literary criticism, full text author biographies, and extensive bibliographies on a wide range of literary works
 

Literature Resource Center LRC provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Somewhat stronger from Latin American authors then LION.

Project Muse Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

Proquest Dissertations The Online version of Dissertation Abstracts International. Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Titles available as native or image PDF formats include free twenty-four page previews.

Redalyc  Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal. Full text database of Latin American journal in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities from the Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Mexico

SCIELO  The Scientific Electronic Library Online- is an electronic full text virtual library covering a selected collection of journals from Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Spain and Venezuela. Most of journals are in the physical sciences. SciELO includes some journals in the humanities, literature and lingusitics.

SUR  SUR, was very imporatant literary magazines published in Argentina between 1931 and 1992. This database contains full text facsimilies of every issues of SUR. The database is browsable by issue or can be searched by author, title and keyword.

Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro  TESO is a full text database containing more than 800 plays written by 16 dramatists from sixteenth and seventeenth century Spain. Each play is reproduced in full, including the "Preliminaries" which contain "aprobaciones", "censuras", and "privilegios." The editorial board of TESO selected the first editions of each volume and avoided facsimiles. The coding has been adapted for dramatic works, allowing users to limit searches to specific elements of the plays. Researchers can browse the complete list of dramas in the database and then select any work for display, starting at the beginning or going directly to a particular act and scene.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322