Skip to main content

Spanish and Portuguese Language & Literature: Useful Databases from other Subjects

African American Studies

Black Studies Center Unique database combining the  International Index to Black Periodicals, Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Black Literature Index 1827-1940 and historically black newspapers.

ANTHROPOLOGY

Anthropology Plus  is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthroplus combines Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute."

 

FILM STUDIES

FIAF International FilmArchive Database Published by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), this resource contains several extensive databases:
Note: Check the relevant boxes to select the desired database

International Index to Film Periodicals (1972- ) This database covers 300+ film journals and periodicals) in two parts: 1972-3/2004 and 4/2004- .

HISTORY

Historical Abstracts   One of the two primary databases for History; indexes articles, as well as some books, collections, and dissertations, related to world history (except the U.S. and Canada) published since 1955.

Jewish Studies

Index to Articles in Jewish Studies (RAMBI)  is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish Studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages

Literary Theory

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Reference PN81 .J554 2005

Available in both online and paper versions.

MEDIEVAL STUDIES

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index "Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages."

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)  Click "Enter databases" button at left; select database and click "Go" button. Indexes over 4500 periodicals and 5000 conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, edited volumes, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogues covering all aspects of the middle ages (400-1500 A.D.)

Iter Gateway to the Renaissance an Interdisciplinary bibliography of articles and reviews drawn from over 700 Medieval and Renaissance journal titles.

PHILOSOPHY

Philosopher's Index  A bibliographic database with informative author written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles books book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy  Online Philosophy Dictionary containing more than 2000 entries.

Womens/ Gender/GLBT Studies

Contemporary Women’s Issues (CWI)
Provides full-text access to global information on women. Contemporary Women’s Issues covers over 800 sources by more than 150 organizations around the world. Coverage begins with sources from 1992 and expands through the present with more than 130 periodicals in addition to non-periodical source publications including newsletters, pamphlets, research reports, bibliographies, fact-sheets, and guides. Sources provide information dealing with women’s issues in over 220 nations.
Coverage: 1992 - present

GenderWatch
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.

LGBT Life
LGBT Life is the definitive index to the world’s literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. This database contains indexing and abstracts for more than 120 GLBT-specific core periodicals and over 230 GLBT-specific core books and reference works. The product also contains data mined from over 40 priority periodicals and over 1,700 select titles. In addition, other source-types such as monographs and reference books as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, and speeches are represented

Women’s Studies International
Includes over 219,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women’s studies databases, including Women Studies Abstracts (1984-present), the Women’s Studies Database (1972-present; U. of Toronto), and many major bibliographies. Note: Limited number of simultaneous users; if you cannot login, try again later.
Coverage: 1972 – present

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322