Skip to main content

A Latin American & Caribbean Studies Guide: Web Resources

Selected Web Resources

Bibliographic Databases

CONUCO: Indice de Puerto Rico
Database that indexes articles from journals published in Puerto Rico

Latindex

Latindex is an excellent bibliographic database for identifying journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. However, this is not a journal index and cannot be used to search for articles in journals.

Metabase
A bibliographic citation database with resources from Central American libraries and documentation centers. Including, Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, El Salvador and Costa Rica. In Spanish.

 

Economic Data

 

Inter American Development Bank
The IADB website contains links to statistical information about the region, specific nations of Latin America and links to a number of full text reports and other documents.

Montivideo Oxford Latin American Economic History Database (OxLAD)
The MOxlad Latin American Economic History Database (OxLAD) contains statistical series for a wide range of economic and social indicators covering twenty countries in the region for the period 1870-2000. Its purpose is to provide economic and social historians worldwide with a systematic recompilation of available statistical information in a single on-line source.

 

Environmental Studies

 

Eco-Index
Searchable database for over 1000 Conservation projects in Latin America provided by the Rainforest Alliance.

Online Bibliography of Environmental History of Latin America
The Online Bibliography on Environmental History of Latin America contains over 900 references to articles, books, videos and WebPages in English, Spanish and Portuguese. The sources for these references include the Forest History Society's online bibliography. The bibliography includes general, regional and country specific resources.

 

Film

 

Latin American Cinema Guide

 

Portal to a variety of pages about Latin American and Caribbean cinema.

 

Full-Text Collections (Books and Journals)

 

Biblioteca Ayacucho Digital
Full text of 100 volumes of the Venezuelan Government's Biblioteca Ayacucho series--This series contains many of the most important literary classics and historical works about Latin America.

Biblioteca Digital Andina
Digital library of full text books from the countries of the Andean Region (Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru and Venezuela)

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes (Biblioeca Americana)
The Miguel de Cervantes Digital Library is an ambitious project of digital publication of the bibliographical, documental and critical heritage of the Spanish and Latin American culture. The Biblioteca Americana is a link to a number of Latin American full text materials.

CLACSO- Latin America and Caribbean Social Science Virtual Library
Database containing more than 7000 full-text social science publications in Spanish and Portuguese from the Consejo de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el Caribe (CLACSO). You can search in the full-text and/or in subject (only in Spanish), author, title.

Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera The Latin American Ephemera Collection contains thousands of digitized pamphlets, brochures, flyers, posters, placards and other printed items created since around the last quarter of the 20th century from Princeton University.

e-journal: Las Revistas Especializadas de Mayor Prestigio
A gateway to the full-text contents of 22 journals published at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México in the areas of science, social sciences, fine arts, administration and finance, and applied engineering. Includes a searchable database for the entire group of journals.

Havard University Digital Latin American Pamphlet Collection
"This collection of more than 5,000 titles was largely uncataloged and virtually inaccessible to researchers until a cataloging and digitization project was initiated in 2002. The Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection contains catalog records with links to page images of the digitized pamphlets." "Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico are the countries most heavily represented in this collection."

Latin American Open Archives Portal
LAOAP is a portal service providing access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies. It encompasses working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials that are not controlled by commercial publishers.

VEJA Digital  Digital access all issues of Veja, an important weekly Brazilian news magazine.  Coverages begins with issue 1 1968.

 

Gender & Sexuality

 

Sex and sexuality in Latin America
Excellent online bibliography of Latin American Gender and Sexuality studies maintained by Stanford University. This updates the bibliography found in the book: Sex and sexuality in Latin America / edited by Daniel Balderston and Donna J. Guy New York : New York University Press, c1997

 

Government Information & Documents

 

Brazilian Government Document Digitization Project
Work of Latin American Microfilm Project (LAMP) at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) to digitize executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil's national government during the period between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the Empire to 1889.

Digital Collection of Mexican and Argentine Presidential Messages
The Presidential Messages database contains digital images of over 75,000 pages of presidential speeches from the early 19th century to the present from Mexico and Argentina.

Latin American Government Documents Archive
A website containing full-text and full-media copies of the web sites of approximately 300 government ministries and presidencies. Capture of sites began on multiple dates in 2005 and 2006, and continues with regularly scheduled captures.

 

History

 

H-Latam Discussion NetworkAn international forum for the scholarly discussion of Latin American History," this page contains a variety of items as book reviews, course syllabi, bibliographies, Power Point presentations, etc.

 

Literature

 

Borges Studies On Line A web site that collects citations of works about Borges. Includes some links to full-text.

The Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz ProjectAn ongoing project that provides information about as well as full-text (with searchable database) by "the greatest poet the American continent produced in the seventeenth century."

 

Maps

 

Maps of the AmericasAn online collection of maps held at the Perry-Castañeda Library at the University of Texas at Austin.

 

Political Science

Latin American Election StatisticsThis web page summarizes the chronology and other events of elections in Latin America as of the independence era. It is a work in progress so it is important to check to see if new information or a new country has been added.

Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)
The Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP), hosted at Vanderbilt University, links to over 60 academic studies based on survey research conducted mainly in Latin America. The LAPOP surveys analyze citizen views on topics that range from system support and political tolerance, to citizen participation, local government, corruption, and views on authoritarianism. To date surveys have been conducted and are now being archived for: Bolivia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru and Venezuela as well as for Madagascar, Israel and Albania.

Political Database of the Americas
A database created by the Georgetown University Center for Latin American Studies and the Organization of American States, designed to provide Internet access to primary sources on Latin American politics. This includes the full text of constitutions, electoral laws, information from the legislative and executive branches of governments, as well as election data. The site also has links to newspapers and journals from the region.

 

Scholary Assocations and Organizations

 

Caribbean Studies Association (CS)The CSA web site provides basic information about itself, including its online newsletter.

Latin American Studies Southeast Region (LASER)LASER is the consortia of university and college libraries in the southeastern United States with strong Latin American collections.

Latin American Studies Association (LASA)The LASA web site provides basic information about the organization, its conferences, publications, and links to other web pages with Latin American content.

Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials (SALALM) SALALM is the professional organization for librarians who work with Latin American materials. It is one of the oldest area studies associations in the US. Its web site includes SALALM information, links on bibliographic instruction, video resources, and the Latin American book trade.

Spanish Language & Literature Research Guide

Phil MacLeod's picture
Phil MacLeod
Contact:
Philip S. MacLeod

pmacleo@emory.edu

Bibliographer for Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Luso-Hispanic Studies, African Studies and Comparative Literature

Robert W. Woodruff Library

Emory University

540 Asbury Circle

Atlanta, GA 30322

Tel.404-727-0150
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322