Skip to main content

A Latin American & Caribbean Studies Guide: Reference Works

Selected Reference Books

 

Anuario estadístico de América Latina y el Caribe = Statistical yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean. Government Documents, United Nations ; HA751 .A58

Artists from Latin American cultures : a biographical dictionary / Kristin G. Congdon and Kara Kelley Hallmark. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002. N6502.5 .C657 2002 STACKS

The Cambridge encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean / general editors, Simon Collier, Thomas E. Skidmore, Harold Blakemore. 2nd ed. New York : Cambridge University Press, 1992. F1406 C36 1992 STACKS

The Cambridge history of Latin America / edited by Leslie Bethell. Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1984- F1410 .C1834 1984 V.1-V.11 STACKS

The Cambridge history of Latin American literature / edited by Roberto González Echevarría and Enrique Pupo-Walker. New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 1996. 3 volumes. PQ7081 .A1 C35 1996 V.1-V.3 STACKS

The Cambridge history of the native peoples of the Americas. New York : Cambridge University Press, 1996-2000. 3 v. (in 6 books) E77 .N62 1996 V.1 PT.1- V.3 PT.2

Dictionary of Afro-Latin American civilization / Benjamin Nuñez, with the assistance of the African Bibliographic Center. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c1980. REFERENCE  F1408.3 .N86 

Diccionario del cine iberoamericano : España, Portugal y América. Madrid : SGAE, Sociedad General de Autores y Editores : Fundación Autor 2011-  Reference PN1993.45 .D528 2011

Diccionario de la música española e hispanoamericana / director y coordinador general, Emilio Casares Rodicio. [Spain] : Sociedad General de Autores y Editores, c1999-2002. 10 volumes. REFERENCE MUSIC & MEDIA LIBRARY ML101 .S7 D53 1999 V.1 – V.10

Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures / edited by Daniel Balderston, Mike Gonzalez and Ana M. López. New York : Routledge, 2000. 3 volumes. F1406 .E515 2000 V.1 REF-BOOK REFERENCE

Encyclopedia of Latin American & Caribbean art / editor, Jane Turner. New York : Grove's Dictionaries, 1999. N6502 .E53 1999 STACKS

Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture / Jay Kinsbruner, editor in chief ; Erick D. Langer, senior editor. 2nd ed. Detroit : Gale/Cengage, c2008. 6 volumes. F1406 .E53 2008 V.1- V.6 STACKS

Encyclopedia of Latin American politics / edited by Diana Kapiszewski . Westport, Conn. : Oryx Press, 2001. REFERENCE F1410 .E56 2001

Envisioning Brazil: a guide to Brazilian studies in the United States, 1945-2003 / edited by Marshall C. Eakin and Paulo Roberto de Almeida. Madison : University of Wisconsin Press, c2005. F2520.7 .E58 2005 STACKS

Handbook of Middle American Indians. / Robert Wauchope, general editor. Austin : University of Texas Press [1964-76] . 16 volumes. F1434 .H3 V.1-V.16 STACKS

Handbook of South American Indians / Julian H. Steward, editor. Washington : U.S. G.P.O., 1946-1959. 7 volumes U.S. Government Documents ; SI 2.3:143/ Non-circulating

Historical dictionary of inter-American organizations / Larman C. Wilson and David W. Dent. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1998 JZ5331 .W55 1998 STACKS

Latin America : a guide to economic history, 1830-1930. Berkeley : University of California Press, 1977. STORAGE LIBRARY  Z7165 .L3 L32

Latin America: a guide to the historical literature. / Charles C. Griffin, editor. Austin : Published for the Conference on Latin American History by the University of Texas Press [c1971] STORAGE LIBRARY  REFERENCE Z1601 .G75 

Latin America: a political dictionary / Ernest E. Rossi, Jack C. Plano. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1992. F1406 .R67 1992 REF-BOOK REFERENCE

Latin America and the Caribbean: a critical guide to research sources / edited by Paula H. Covington. New York : Greenwood Press, 1992. REFERENCE  Z1601 .L3225 1992 

Latin American and Caribbean artists of the modern era : a biographical dictionary of more than 12,700 persons / Steve Shipp. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., 2003. REFERENCE  N6502.4 .S45 2003 

Latin American studies: an annotated bibliography of core works / Ana María Cobos and Ana Lya Sater. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c2002. F1408 .C536 2002 STACKS

Notable Caribbeans and Caribbean Americans : a biographical dictionary / Serafín Méndez-Méndez and Gail A. Cueto. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2003. CT329 .M46 2003 STORAGE LIBRARY

Notable twentieth-century Latin American women : a biographical dictionary / edited by Cynthia Margarita Tompkins and David William Foster. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2001. STACKS  CT3290 .N68 2001 

A political and economic dictionary of Latin America [electronic resource] / Peter Calvert. ELECTRONIC ACCESS: http://proxy.library.emory.edu/login?url=http://www.emory.eblib.com/ EBLWeb/patron/?target=patron&extendedid=P%5F178945%5F0&userid=%5Eu& London ; New York : Europa Publications, 2004.

A reference guide to Latin American history / James D. Henderson, editor. Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2000. REFERENCE  F1410 .H463 2000 

Research tools for Latin American historians: a select, annotated bibliography / David P. Werlich. New York : Garland Pub., 1980. REFERENCE  Z1601 .W47 

Women, culture, and politics in Latin America / Seminar on Feminism and Culture in Latin America ; Emilie Bergmann ...[et al.]. Berkeley : University of California Press, c1990. HQ1460.5 .W624 1990 STACKS AND ELECTRONIC VERSION

Spanish Language & Literature Research Guide

Phil MacLeod's picture
Phil MacLeod
Contact:
Philip S. MacLeod

pmacleo@emory.edu

Bibliographer for Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Luso-Hispanic Studies, African Studies and Comparative Literature

Robert W. Woodruff Library

Emory University

540 Asbury Circle

Atlanta, GA 30322

Tel.404-727-0150
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322