Skip to main content

A Latin American & Caribbean Studies Guide: Subject Article Databases

Useful Databases for Latin American Studies

African American Studies

Black Studies Center Unique database combining the  International Index to Black Periodicals, Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Black Literature Index 1827-1940 and historically black newspapers.

 

Anthropology

Anthropology Plus  is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthroplus combines Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index.

 

Art History

Art Abstracts & Art Retrospective contain citations, abstracts, and some full text articles from periodicals published internationally and in multiple languages since 1929. Reproductions of works of art are also indexed. Click on Open Database Selection Area in the Upper part and make sure that checkmarks in front of both Art Full Text and Art Retrospective.

Grove Dictionary of Art is a comprehensive encyclopedic reference tool for all aspects of the visual arts

 

Economics

EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) Portal access all of Emory's EIU databases from a single point: Viewswire, Industrywire, and the Country Reports and Newsletters databases. The Economist Intelligence Unit is the world's leading provider of country intelligence, providing up-to-date, reliable and impartial analysis on worldwide market trends and business strategies. EIU continuously assesses and forecasts political, economic and business conditions in almost 200 countries, and provides insight into how companies are responding.

 

Education

ERIC is a comprehensive encyclopedic reference tool for all aspects of Education

 

Film & Media Studies

Communication and Mass Media Complete  Provides indexing and some full text for journals in areas related to communication and mass media. Includes articles on film and television.

Film Literature Index   annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular."

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals  this database covers 300+ film journals and periodicals) from 1970 to the present

 

History

Historical Abstracts is one of the two primary databases for History; indexes articles, as well as some books, collections, and dissertations, related to world history (except the U.S. and Canada) published since 1955

 

Jewish Studies

Index to Articles in Jewish Studies (RAMBI)  is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish Studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages

 

Literature

MLA International Bibliography this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials

 

Music

International Index to Music Periodicals  Indexes articles in more than 430 music journals from about 20 countries; selectively indexes some newspapers. Coverage begins with 1996 except for selected titles indexed in their entirety. Abstracts are provided for articles published after 1995

Music Index Online Indexes articles in more than 700 music periodicals and selectively indexes journals in related fields. Coverage begins with 1979.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature A comprehensive guide to publications on music from all over the world, RILM Abstracts covers all literature about music, not just journal articles. Entries include abstracts in English. Coverage begins with 1967.

 

Political Science

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)  publishes a wide range of scholarship, dating from 1991 forward, that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. New material is added to each section of CIAO on a regular basis. Working papers are augmented every month, as are conference proceedings, policy briefs and economic indicators

PAIS International  provides bibliographic records from the literature of public policy, social policy and the social sciences from 1915-present. Be sure to choose both the archive and the current index

Political Science Complete provides up-to-date bibliographic information and research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy

 

Religion

ATLA Religion Database  The American Theological Library Association database focuses on religion,of course, but is also useful as an index to articles on human rights, immigration, history and culture in Latin America and the Caribbean.

 

Sociology

Sociological Abstracts Primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. This database indexes information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serial publications, books and dissertations. Coverage: 1952 - present.

 

Women's Studies

Contemporary Women’s Issues (CWI)  provides full-text access to global information on women. Contemporary Women’s Issues covers over 800 sources by more than 150 organizations around the world. Coverage begins with sources from 1992 and expands through the present with more than 130 periodicals in addition to non-periodical source publications including newsletters, pamphlets, research reports, bibliographies, fact-sheets, and guides. Sources provide information dealing with women’s issues in over 220 nations..

Women’s Studies International Includes over 219,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women’s studies databases, including Women Studies Abstracts (1984-present), the Women’s Studies Database (1972-present; U. of Toronto), and many major bibliographies. Note: Limited number of simultaneous users; if you cannot login, try again later. Coverage: 1972 – present. p>

Spanish Language & Literature Research Guide

Phil MacLeod's picture
Phil MacLeod
Contact:
Philip S. MacLeod

pmacleo@emory.edu

Bibliographer for Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Luso-Hispanic Studies, African Studies and Comparative Literature

Robert W. Woodruff Library

Emory University

540 Asbury Circle

Atlanta, GA 30322

Tel.404-727-0150
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322