Skip to main content

Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies Research Guide: Locating Articles

Guide to doing research on Russia and the former Soviet republics and the countries of Eastern Europe

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

Databases

 

ABSEES: American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
(1957 to present) Lists English language articles from journals (but also lists books and dissertations) covering literature, political science, history, economics, etc.

CEEOL (Central and East European Online Library)  is an online archive which provides access to full text PDF articles from 220 humanities and social science journals, electronic books and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics.

 

EBSEES: European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
(1991-2007)
This database contains the data of two former EBSEES databases, one for 1991-2000, the other for 2001-2006. The new unified database with about 85.500 titles has been developed by the Berlin State Library in cooperation with the Maison des Sciences de l´Homme, Paris.
Work on adding records to EBSEES ended in 2007, and no further editing will take place after December 2007. The end date for each country’s contribution varies.
EBSEES lists books, journal articles, reviews and theses on Eastern Europe published in eight countries of Western Europe: Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, the Netherlands, and most recently Switzerland. It includes documents from all these countries, whether published in that country’s language or in the languages of the countries studied. This includes national minorities and émigré publications.

 

EconLit

This is an international index to economic journals.

Historical Abstracts
(1955 to present)

Covers all the world (except the U.S. and Canada) from the Renaissance to the present.

International Index to Music Periodicals
(selective coverage from 1874 to present) Covers all forms of music.

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
1973 to present)

Literature Resource Center

Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes full-text biographies, articles and bibliographies.

MLA International Bibliography
1963 to present The print version (Stacks Z7003 .M6) goes back to 1921 but for the Russian scholar it is of little use before 1959. An annual, from 1921 to 1955 it was limited to writings by Americans on English and western European languages and literatures. In 1956 it began to include writings by scholars from abroad and in 1959 it expanded coverage to include most of the world's languages and literatures including Russian. From its beginning through 1980, the basic arrangement was by langauge/literature subdivided chronologically and, within each time period, by author. It was very hard to search by any subject other than an author's name. In 1981 the bibliography began providing full subject indexing. In the online version of the MLA International Bibliography, the peculiarities of the print version regarding subject searching are perpetuated so that subject searching prior to 1981 is essentially by title keyword or author name.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
1971 to present This is an index to journals, newspapers, magazines and government publications dealing with politics, economics, military affairs, foreign relations and social conditions. The print version of PAIS goes back to 1915 at Reference Z7163 .P92.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
(1967 to present) The Répertoire internationale de la littérature musicale provides indexing and abstracts of the world's musical periodical literature.

 

 

Subject Guide

Tarina Rosen's picture
Tarina Rosen
Contact:
Woodruff Library
Emory University
Atlanta, Ga. 30322

Phone: 404 727-1583
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322