Skip to main content

Economics Honors Guide: Citation Tracking in Economics

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides citation information for most books and articles in its database. Unlike the other databases, it includes books and working and conference papers. Note that the citation figures provided by Google Scholar may differ widely from other databases, such as Web of Science, for a number of reasons (which we will not go into here!).

 

 

Principal Citation Databases

Web of Science (ISI Citation Indexes)

·     Use "Cited Reference Search" to find out how many times a work or author has been cited.

·     The database provides a link to the citing authors.

·     Rank the authors of the citing articles by clicking the "Analyze" link.

·     Register for a "Citation Alert" to be notified when an article is cited by new articles.

·     Each record includes a link to Journal Citation Reports. This report calculates the frequency with which a particular journal is cited . This measure is the "impact factor" of the journal.

  • Scopus (SciVerse Scopus)-- A competitor (and somewhat easier to use) to Web of Science. Be sure to declick the options for non-social science articles (default). Use citation tools to locate related literature and research.

SSRN

SSRN also allows users to view how many times particular working papers/articles have been downloaded from the site.

 

 

Subject Guide

Chris Palazzolo's picture
Chris Palazzolo
Contact:
226 Woodruff Library

Emory University

Atlanta, GA 30322

404-727-0143 (phone)

404-727-0827 (fax)

cpalazz@emory.edu
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322