Skip to main content

A Classics Research Guide: Resources

resources to help Classics, Ancient Mediterranean Studies, and the study of the civilization and cultural achievements of ancient Greece and Rome

Bibliographical Indexes

  • The Canon of Greek Authors and Works is a searchable bibliographical database that contains all known authors and works from antiquity to Byzantium with information about their printed editions.
  • GNOMON Bibliographic Databank. An online version of the Gnomon bibliography is available via the Web. The site is updated every week.
  • Bibliotheca Classica Selecta is bibliography of classical studies maintained by Jacques Poucet in Belgium. It contains an annotated list with links to the Home Pages of all Classics Journals, including electronic ones.
  • TOCS-INcontains the current tables of contents of over 150 journals of interest to classicists.
  • Diotima bibliographies on Women and Gender in the Ancient WorldDiotima offers a large number of references related to the study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World organized in categories by subject or author.
  • Leiden University Bibliographies: The Home Page of the Leiden University Classics Department contain lists to several bibliographies:Pindar and Bacchylides (maintained by Dr. I.L. Pfeijffer), and Hellenistic Poetry, (maintained by M.P. Cuypers).
  • Ancient Novel (An Initial Bibliography of the Ancient Novel, related Genres and Interesting Secondary Literature) compiled by Jean Alvares and divided alphabetically. A downloadable rtf version of the Bibliography is also available from the same site. Ross Scaife has produced a searchable version linked to the Petronius Society Newsletter.
  • Ancient Narrative is a journal interested in the ancient Greek, Roman, and Jewish novelistic traditions as well as the reception of these traditions in modern literature, film and music. Ancient Narrative is published by Barkhuis Publishing in cooperation with the University Library of the University of Groningen and appears both in print and on line. The online version offers information about the journal and the table of contents of each issue with abstracts of the articles. The full online version (with complete articles) is available to journal subscribers only.
  • Arachnion: A Journal of Ancient Literature and History on the Web is a refereed electronic journal for classical studies. It's purpose is to become an "electronic voice" for European classical scholarship.
  • Bryn Mawr Classical Review was founded in 1990 by Prof. Richard Hamilton of Bryn Mawr and Prof. James O'Donnell of the University of Pennsylvania. It publishes over 150 reviews a year and distributes them via e-mail to a growing number of subscribers around the world. Reviews are also available on line.
  • Didaskalia is an electronic journal which publishes news related to ancient theater and modern productions of ancient theater, listings of upcoming productions and drama-oriented events, and reviews of books and productions pertaining to ancient theater. Didaskalia may also be accessed via gopher at: gopher.csv.warwick.ac.uk. 
  • Digressus is a refereed online journal formed by a consortium of postgraduates at the universities of Nottingham and Birmingham, UK in order to give postgraduates interested in Classical Studies the opportunity to begin publishing. Digressus is an electronic journal and its .pdf articles can be read online with Acrobat Reader.
  • Electronic Antiquity: Communicating the Classics was the first electronic journal for publishing scholarly articles, edited by P. Toohey (Univ. of Calgary) and I. Worthington (University of Missouri) at the University of Tasmania. The journal now has a new web site at Virginia Tech which offers access to all its issues (starting June 1993).

Dictionaries

Scholarly Journals and Evaluating Resources

Scholarly journals review submitted articles before they are published. Many professors require students to use scholarly journal articles as resources when writing research papers. Here are tips on locating scholarly journal articles and evaluating sources.

Conventional Resources

Searching For Articles In discoverE

In discoverE you can search some of our databases for articles.

When you first open discoverE, it defaults to using the Catalog tab. You should choose the Combined tab, which is the third from the left:

  1. Enter your search terms.
  2. Use discoverE's 'Refine Search Results' feature (in the left column) to limit your search to articles and by topic, author, and date.
  3. Click on the "Full Text Available' link if there is one. You should also click on the "No Full Text" links; some of them will lead to a full-text online copy.
  4. If it's not available online, follow these directions.

Subject Librarian

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322