Skip to main content
- Bibliotheca Augustana is a new electronic Latin text archive created by Ulrich Harsch. It contains a number of texts (either residing in the same site or accessible through links to other sites) organized by date or alphabetical order and prefaced by brief biographical information for each author. A very nicely organized and presented site.
- The Gutenberg Project encourages the creation and distribution of English language electronic texts. The project takes books whose copyright has expired, converts them into text files and makes them available to the public at no charge.
- Homer The Greek text of Homer edited by Helmut van Thiel, University of Cologne (Olms:1991/96) is available on-line.
- The Latin Library is a large selection of html formatted Latin texts collected and mantained by William L. Carey at Ad Fontes Academy.
- The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL) is a collection of translations of important Classical and Medieval literary works. It contains, among others, an introduction and translation of Apollonius of Rhodes' Argonautica, Hesiod's works, the Homeric Hymns, and Quintus Smyrnaeus' The Fall of Troy.
- Perseus Project is a digital library project of Tufts University that assembles digital collections of humanities resources in original languages such as Greek and Latin.
- The Duke Papyrus Archive
- Bibliotheca Latina
- The Philological Museum
Get it on the WEB
- Emory University
Department of Classics Links
Contains links to all the major sites of
interest to classical historians.
The Beazley Archive at the University of Oxford has
placed online two valuable resources for Classics and Art History instructors.
The first item, the Dictionary, contains "illustrated descriptions of characters
from Greek myth, art and architectural terms, also maps and place names." The
dictionary currently contains over 240 hypertext entries. The second item offers
information on the Archive's plaster cast collection, an overview of traditional
and modern cast making, and a cast catalog. The catalog contains over 50
entries, thematically organized, each of which leads to multiple thumbnail
images and links to related cast images and dictionary entries.
- Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Publishes timely reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical
studies. This site is the authoritative archive of BMCR's publication, from 1990
to the present
- Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum
illustrated catalog of more than 100,000 ancient vases. Users can search or
browse by country or museum and do advance searches by fabric, shape or
Material for the study
of women and gender in the ancient world
- Perseus Digital
Perseus is an evolving digital library with a goal to bring a
wide range of source materials to a large audience. The collection contains
extensive and diverse resources including primary and secondary texts, site
plans, digital images.
- Theoi Project
Theoi.com is a guide to
the Ancient Greek Pantheon of Gods ("Theoi"), Spirits ("Daimones"), and Monsters
("Theres"). Contains individual entries on the various divinities & monsters
containing quotes sourced from a wide variety of Classical Texts. The site can
be searched, or information is presented in a variety of fashions (alphabetical,
pantheon, family tree, bestiary, kingdoms, and misc.).
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322