Banner Image

Journalism 380: Health and Science Writing: Find Government Info

Find government information on health and science

CQ Electronic Library

An excellent source for public policy, CQ Library includes: CQ Weekly, an online version of CQ Weekly Report, provides authoritative, non-partisan information on Congressional activity including voting analysis and background reports. CQ Researcher, an online version of the printed CQ Researcher, is a weekly that analyses current and controversial issues. CQ Supreme Court Collection contains court decisions, biographical information on justices, institutional history, and a feature that allows analysis and comparison of the voting records of a justice. CQ Congress Collection is an integrated Congressional database which includes numerous encyclopedic entries, legislative policy histories, statistics, chronologies, biographies, electoral data, voting records, and maps. CQ Voting and Elections provides detailed information on elections at the national and state levels. CQ Public Affairs Collection contains a variety of source material organized by 22 key topics. CQ Insider provides directory information on the international, national, and state levels. Electronic Encyclopedia of American Government is an online version of the printed A to Z Encyclopedia series that provides information on Congress, the Presidency, the Supreme Court and U.S. elections.

LexisNexis Congressional

An online, full-text legislative and regulatory service, published by Congressional Information Service, Inc. (CIS), a leading international publisher of reference, research, and current awareness information products based on information produced by the U.S. government and related information.

 

Science.gov

Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results


Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Federal agency charged with protecting public health of the nation by providing leadership and direction in the prevention or and control of diseases and other preventable conditions and responding to public health emergencies. 

Department of Health and Human Services

Cabinet-level department most involved with the nation's human concerns.  Responsible for health, welfare, and income security plans, policies, and programs of the federal government. 

Environmental Protection Agency

Laws, regulations, dockets, informational and educational information from the United States Environmental Protection Agency.

Food and Drug Administration

Responsible for protecting the public health by ensuring the safety, efficacy and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, the nation's food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation. 

National Institute of Standards and Technology

Web page for the federal technology agency that works with industry to develop and apply technology, measurements, and standards. 

National Institutes of Health

Agency that supports biomedical and behavioral research domestically and abroad, conducts research in its own laboratories and clinics, trains researchers, and promotes acquisition and distribution of medical knowledge.  .

National Science Foundation

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…" With an annual budget of about $5.92 billion, we are the funding source for approximately 20 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America's colleges and universities. In many fields such as mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing.

National Space and Aeronautics Administration (NASA)
NASA's mission is to pioneer the future in space exploration, scientific discovery, and aeronautics research. 

World Health Organization

WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

Social Sciences Librarian

Jennifer Elder
Contact:
Librarian for Psychology, Journalism, & Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies

Emory University

Robert W. Woodruff Library

404-712-2833
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322