Skip to main content

Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies Research Guide: Digital Collections

Online Full Text Resources

Arabic Collections Online

Arabic Collections Online (ACO) is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content. Funded by New York University Abu Dhabi, this mass digitization project aims to expose up to 15,000 volumes from NYU and partner institutions over a period of five years. NYU and the partner institutions are contributing all types of material—literature, business, science, and more—from their Arabic language collections. ACO will provide digital access to printed books drawn from rich Arabic collections of prominent libraries. To access the Arabic Collection Online, go to http://dlib.nyu.edu/aco

The Quranic Arabic Corpus

An annotated linguistic resource showing the Arabic grammar, syntax and morphology for each work in the Quran. It provides three levels of analysis: morphological annotation, a syntactic treebank and a semantic ontology.

al-Maktabah al-Waqfiyah

A large library of scanned books in PDF format. It is searchable in Arabic text only and has a detailed table of contents to titles according to general subject. 

Some full text titles of commentares on the Koran at al-Waqfeya not held at Emory Library:

ULB Sachsen-Anhalt

An enormous collection of some 3,050 volumes of printed Arabic, Ottoman and Persian (and other) books that date from the end of the sixteenth century to the early twentieth, digitized by the Middle East and North Africa Special Area Collection of The Universitaets- und Landesbiblithek Sachsen-Anhalt in Halle. The project began in 2010 and is ongoing. WorldCat does not search its contents, so be sure to search them separately. The material is searchable by keyword, author, genre or place of publication.

To be assigned

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322