Skip to main content

Course Guide to CHN 375: China and the West: Finding Journal Articles

Ever since China and the West encountered with each other, the influence between these two hemispheres has changed the local and world history in the aspects of culture, military, politics, economics and civilization.

Other Resources to Try

For other suggestions see the full listing of resources available to locate articles related to the topics of either your project or paper.

See also: Finding Articles at Woodruff Library

Locating Articles

Woodruff Library subscribes to thousands of periodicals (scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers). For the most part the contents of these periodicals are NOT FREELY AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET.  All the current printed persiodicals are in the Matheson Reading Room.  The Library also subscribes to quite a lot E-Journals, simply click the E-Journals site above or at the Library's website, you can read the journals on your computer.  Here are several E-journals related to your class:

 

1. Comparative Literature

 2. Comparative Literature Studies

 

3. Bryn Mawr Review of Comparative Literature


4. Canadian Review of Comparative Literature

 

5. Commonwealth & Comparative Politics

 

6. Comparative Politics

 

7. Journal of Comparative Politics

 

8. Comparative Philosophy

 


The Library also subscribes to subject related online databses, some of them cover the journal atricles in the subject area of Chinese Studies, they are: 

JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

Project MUSE

Another database providing the full text of articles from 160 journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science ...  It includes the journal Late Imperial China.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This database coveres bibliographic information of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

Historical Abstracts [ABC-CLIO]

The ABC-CLIO Historical Abastracts covers the materials from 1955 to the present.

eHRAF World Cultures

eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.  The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.  eHRAF is produced by the Human Relations Area Files, Inc at Yale University.

Humanities International complete

 

Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. HIC includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text for more than 770 journals.

 

China: Trade, Politics & Culture 1793-1980

 

This database provides English language sources relating to China and the West from 1793-1980.  It covers almost any aspect of Chinese history during the two centuries of monumental social and politcal upheaval that ultimately recreated China into a modern power.

 

World News Connnection

 

A Foreign News Service from the U.S. Government that offers translated and Englsih-language news and information.  Includes the local media sources in foreign countries and regions.  China is certainly included there.

 

Subject Guide

Guo-Hua Wang's picture
Guo-Hua Wang
Contact:
404-727-0411
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322