Skip to main content
Classical Music Research Guide
Search this Guide
Classical Music Research Guide: Key Sources
More Reference Works
How to Find Music
Audio & Video
How to find a journal
Foreign Language Terms
Organizations, Schools, People
Writing & Citing
News & Events
Guides to the Literature
Library Simplified - TRY THIS!
Woodruff (Main) Library
Heilbrun Music and Media Library
Table of All Libraries' Hours
Equipment Collections at Emory
Met Opera on Demand
Databases for Music
About Call Numbers
Where to start
These are the standard starting places for research or reference
Oxford Music Online
Includes Grove Music Online, the primary English-language reference source for music.
INDIA* finds india, indian, indianapolis. . . .
C*T finds cat, cut, carat, clout, count. . . . .
? is the wildcard for one single character.
See side box for components of Grove Music Online.
Harvard Dictionary of Music. 4th ed. Don Michael Randel, ed. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2003.
An authoritative source for definitions and concise articles on musical topics and terms. No articles on people.
Online access is through Credo Reference Library. Print version: Musicmedia REF ML100 .H37 2003.
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Music.
Guide to scholarly literature. Contains 100+ articles on topics and individuals, with extremely useful bibliographies of recommended resources.
Important tip: To check for a music article, skip the top-most search box and use the blue A-Z keys, or type your term in the "Jump to" box just below the alphabet.
Provides names and death dates of people in the world of music who have died since sometime in the 1980s. Gives citations to death announcements and obituaries. A very valuable resource with a wide scope—many lesser-known individuals are included.
Site maintained at Gaylord Music Library, Washington University. Editors attempt to update the site daily.
Music and Media Library
More Reference Works >>
Sep 19, 2017 2:30 PM
Login to LibApps
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322