Skip to main content

Classical Music Research Guide: Organizations, Schools, People

Published Guides in the Music and Media Library

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts. East Windsor, NJ: Commonwealth Business Media. Annual.
MUSICMEDIA REF ML12 .M88   Recommended
Listings for educational institutions, performing ensembles, associations, festivals, publishers, record companies, management companies, and more. The index to advertisers helps identify managers for particular artists.

International Who’s Who in Classical Music. London and New York: Europa Publications. Annual.
MUSICMEDIA REF ML106 .G7 W42
In addition to biographies and contact information for individuals, includes appendices listing orchestras, opera companies, festivals, organizations, competitions, libraries, and conservatories.

Directory of Music Faculties in College and Universities, U.S. and Canada. Binghamton, NY: College Music Society. Annual.
MUSICMEDIA REF ML13 .D58

Membership directories of organizations

American Musicological Society.  Directory.  ML27 .U5 A4A

Early Music America.  Membership Directory.  ML26 .E374

Music Library Association.  Membership Handbook.  ML27 .U5 M83

Websites

Schools

College Navigator (National Center for Education Statistics)

Researching Graduate Schools (Emory Libraries guide)

Publishers and Licensing Organizations

Music Publishers’ Association of the United States.  To find publishers, consult both the Directory of Music Publishers and the Directory of Publisher Imprints.

ASCAP Concert Music section (American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers)

BMI: Classical Music section (Broadcast Music Incorporated)

Librarian

Peter Shirts's picture
Peter Shirts
Contact:
Music and Media Library
404-727-1066
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322