Skip to main content

Classical Music Research Guide: Guides to the Literature

Guides to Music Research Tools

Music Research:  A Handbook, by Laurie J. Sampsel. 2d ed.  New York:  Oxford University Press, 2013.
Musicmedia Reference ML113. S28 2013

Functions both as a guide for the beginning researcher and as a list of the most significant reference works and tools. Cogent advice, critical comments and detailed annotations make this extremely useful.

Music Reference and Research Materials:  An Annotated Bibliography, by Vincent H. Duckles and Ida Reed.  5th ed.  New York: Schirmer Books, 1997. 
Musicmedia Reference ML113 .D83 1997.

Long recognized as the standard bibliography of reference works in the discipline and still valuable for its comprehensive coverage and annotations.  Use in conjunction with more recent publications.

MusicRef

The online bibliography at this site is particularly valuable for its currency, though it cannot be assumed to be completely up to date.  An ongoing project based at Brigham Young University, it contains about 6500 sources, including websites. Many records include annotations on coverage, organization, and pros and cons of the source.  Users are invited to comment on entries and to offer criticisms. 

Sourcebook for Research in Music, by Phillip D. Crabtree and Donald H. Foster.  2d. ed. rev. and expanded by Allen Scott.  Bloomington:  Indiana University Press, 2005.
Musicmedia Reference ML113 .C68 2005.

A selective listing.  Chapter and section introductions help orient the user to the type of literature covered in that section.  Also noteworthy:  the section defining common bibliographical terms and the lists of French and German terms with their English equivalents.

Introduction to Research in Music, by Richard J. Wingell and Silvia Herzog. Upper Saddle River, NJ:  Pretice-Hall, 2001.
Musicmedia Reference MT1 .W825 2001.

A practical introduction to research at the graduate level.  Still valuable, though the material on electronic resources is now dated.

 

Librarian

Peter Shirts's picture
Peter Shirts
Contact:
Music and Media Library
404-727-1066
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322