Skip to main content
Banner Image

Course Guide to History 489SWR: JR/SR Colloquium: History of Western Medicine in China: Home

This course reviews the history of Western medicine in China from the Jesuits to the SARS epidemic with particular focus on the late l9th and 20th centuries.

Getting Started with Your Research

This course guide is created to provide research resources for projects and papers of History 489SWR: JR/SR Colloquium: History of Western Medicine in China.  You can also find TIPS on how to use scholarly resources and Emory libraries at Research FAQ's.

Finding Books

Try DiscoverE, Emory libraries' new way to find library resources.

Use EUCLID to find books (as well as other materials) located at any of Emory's libraries. You can search EUCLID by keywords or phrases, author, title or periodical titles. See our Online tutorials for more information about EUCLID.

WorldCat is an online catalog of books and other materials held by libraries worldwide. You can request any titles that Emory does not have by the Interlibrary Loan. You can not only loan books, but also articles and almost anything else from another library. It usually takes about two weeks to get the materials, so plan early.

Finding Articles

Woodruff Library subscribes to thousands of periodicals (scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers). For the most part the contents of these periodicals are NOT FREELY AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET.  All the current printed persiodicals are in the Matheson Reading Room.  The Library also subscribes to quite a lot E-Journals, simply click the E-Journals site above or at the Library's website, you can read the journals on your computer.  Here are several E-journals related to your class:

Global Change & Human Health

Global Health: Global fund to fight AIDS, TB, and malaria has advanced in key areas, but difficult challenges remain

Global Public Health

Globalization and Health

The Library also subscribes to subject related online databses, some of them cover the journal atricles in the subject area of East Asian Studies, they are: 

Global Health

This database provides international coverage of communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS), tropical and parasitic diseases, human nutrition, community and public health, and medicinal and poisonous plants.  It covers materials from 1973 to the present.

PubMed

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.  It covers the materials from 1950s to the present.

JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

Project MUSE

Another database providing the full text of articles from 160 journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science ...  It includes the journal Late Imperial China.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This database coveres bibliographic information of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

ERIC [CSA]

Educational Resources Information Center [CSA] covers full text articles from 1966 to present.

ERIC [U.S.Department of Education]

The coverage of this database is from 1966 to present.

Citing Your Sources

Citing your sources means you cite the resources you used for your writing so as to give credit to those people whose idears or words you are using in your paper and to distinguish their ideas/words from your own.  It also allows your readers to verify your claims and to get more information from the source materials.

For more guidance, please review Citing Your Sources Guide.

Here are some printed information:

Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS)

REF DESK Z253 .U69 2003

MLA handbook for Writers of Research Papers (MLA)
REF DESK LB2369 .G53 2003

Manual for Writers of Term papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian)
REF DESK LB2369 .T8 1996

Subject Guide

Guo-Hua Wang
Contact:
404-727-0411
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322