Skip to main content

Researching Urban Atlanta: News Sources

A guide to locating current information about the Atlanta urban area.

Atlanta News

Atlanta Journal-Constitution is city's major newspaper.

 

Atlanta Business Chronicle: source for business news.

 

Atlanta's oldest black newspaper.

Atlanta/Georgia News

The Atlanta Journal and Constitution is the city's major paper. For information on the paper, both history and availability (digital, paper and microfilm), click here.

  • PressDisplay contains full-text reproductions of newspapers from around the world as well many for the U.S. including most major cities. Very current with a 60 day backfile. Includes The Atlanta Journal-Constitution. TIP: In the alphabetical list of papers, click on "A" but scroll to the bottom to get THE Atlanta Journal-Constitution

 

Atlanta Business Chronicle is one of the city's leading business news sources. Paper issues are available in the stacks at HF1.A84.

Local African-American newspapers:

Atlanta Newspaper Guide is an excellent guide to Emory's collection of local and historic papers in a variety of formats.

 

Some specialized news databases include:

 

Ethnic NewsWatch is full-text collection of U. S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses, searchable in English and Spanish. This database includes both current (1990-present) and historical (1960-1989) indexes

New York Times. Times Topics. Links to news articles on a wide variety of subjects as well as links to other sources.

Newspaper Source (recent years)
Provides selected full text for 25 national and international newspapers and more than 200 regional newspapers, including (including the Atlanta Journal Constitution, Augusta Chronicle, Columbus Ledger-Enquirer, Macon Telegraph, and Savannah Morning News). In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, National Public Radio, etc.

Proquest Black Newspapers Collection Black Newspapers provide a record of social change spanning almost a century from the perspective of those most affected by racism in American life. Covering major events to everyday life, these titles are invaluable research tools for studying American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and art. This collection includes: includes Atlanta Daily World (1932-2003), Los Angeles Sentinel (1946-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), & Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).

Black Studies Center seamlessly integrates the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) and full-text access to historical back-files of Chicago Defender from 1935-1975, a prominent black newspaper. The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience consists of commissioned essays by scholars in the field and a collection of primary resources that includes photographs and video clips.

Television News Archive at Vanderbilt University is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.NOTE that this archive is for national news. All the major Atlanta stations maintain websites with current and some older newa broadcasts.

The following general databases also include a number of news sources:

Factiva lets you quickly search nearly 8,000 publications in 22 languages, including the world's most prestigious publications, local sources and the Reuters and Dow Jones newswires. In addition, Factiva.com is the exclusive archive of The Wall Street Journal. You also can search the content of more than 9,000 Web sites.

LexisNexis Academic Universe covers as wide variety of newsources including the Atlanta-Journal Constitution.

Google News Archive is a new initiative to make more old newspapers accessible and searchable online by partnering with newspaper publishers to digitize millions of pages of news archives.You will be able to search these newspapers and you'll also be able to browse through them exactly as they were printed -- photographs, headlines, articles, advertisements and all. You can explore this historical treasure trove by searching the Google News Archive or by using the timeline feature after searching Google News.

PressDisplay contains full-text reproductions of newspapers from around the world as well many for the U.S. including most major cities. Very current with a 60 day backfile. Includes The Atlanta Journal-Constitution. 

 

For more information on locating newspapers in various formats, check the following research guide: How Do I Find Newspapers?

 

Of interest, Georgia stories from the New York Times series "How Race is Lived in America" which won the Pulitzer Prize in 2001.

Shared Prayers, Mixed Blessings

A Limited Partnership

Subject Librarian

Nidia Bañuelos's picture
Nidia BaƱuelos
Contact:
540 Asbury Circle
Atlanta, GA 30322
404-727-6953
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322