Skip to main content

Primary Source Research in Latin American History: Resources Beyond Emory

Latin America and Europe

Catálogo Colectivo de Impresos Latinoamericanos (English site)

A union catalog of Spanish/Portuguese letterpress material printed in Latin America, Caribbean, United States and Philippines from the first printing in Latin America (about 1539) through the end of 1850. When completed, the CCILA will provide digital access (image and text) to all Latin American imprints to 1851.

Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC), http://www.lanic.utexas.edu

The most comprehensive source for Latin America on the internet with well organized subject and country links. From the University of Texas at Austin.

Portal de Archivos Españoles
Gateway to numerous archives in Spain, provides access to extensive list of finding aids and digital content.

Biblioteca Virtual del Patrimonio Bibliográfico
Provides access to the digital facsimiles of hundreds of manuscript collections and and rare books from Spain.

 

 

 

United States

 

UNIVERSITIES and LIBRARIES

 

CRL Center for Research Libraries

CRL's mission is to foster and advance scholarly inquiry through cost-effective, cooperative programs that provide reliable access through traditional and electronic means to unique and unusual collections of library materials. Includes all appropriate formats and disciplines, with an emphasis on worldwide newspapers, international doctoral dissertations, scholarly journals and textbooks.

Brown University (John Carter Brown Library)

The Library focuses on early printing and the Americas. Of particular interest are materials dealing with European discovery, exploration, travel, settlement, and colonization.

Columbia University - Latin America & Iberian Studies

Offers strong coverage of Mexico, Brazil, and Southern Cone countries.

Cornell University Library

Major repository for newspapers, serials and regional publications, with emphasis on Andean countries. The Latin American & Carribean Government Documents Project classifies and organizes electronic links to Latin American governmental information resources.

Duke University - Resources for Latin America, Spain, and Portugal

Collection strengths include cultural studies from most countries, Mexico in general and within the North American context, Brazilian and Argentine labor history, Andean countries, with particular emphasis on Peru.

Florida International University Latin American and Caribbean Information Center

Collections of note include: archival records of Dr. Levi Marrero from the Archivo de Indias in Sevilla, Miguel González-Pando's Cuban Living History Project video archives, and over 2000 Cuban exile pamphlets written between 1960-1963.

Harvard University Libraries

Strengths in the social sciences and humanities for most countries, coverage from the late 18th century to the present. Also of mention is the David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies

Inter-American Development Bank (Banco Interamericano de Desarrollo)

Provides statistical tables and maps of Latin American countries. The Felipe Herrera Library is a leading library in economic and social development in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Library of Congress, Hispanic Division

The largest and most extensive coverage within the U.S. The Hispanic Reading Room serves as the primary access point for research relating to the Caribbean, Latin America, and the Iberian peninsula and the indigenous cultures of those areas. Also see related Handbook of Latin American Studies.

New York University - Latin American Studies Resources

Supports the academic program of the Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies (CLACS). The Avery Fisher Center for Music and Media offers extensive collections of documentary videos and motion pictures.

The Newberry Library

Independent research library in Chicago, with emphasis on Indians, languages, and Luso-Brazilian and Mexican history.

Princeton University - Research on Latin America, Spain, and Portugal

Strong printed collections for Cuba, Chile and Argentina.

Stanford University Libraries Latin American & Iberian Collections

Comprehensive collecting of politics at The Hoover Institution; also, a major Chicano studies collection.

Tulane University - Latin American Library

A major repository for Central American and Mexican primary and secondary sources, including colonial documents, indigenous language collections, and photographs. The collection focuses on Mesoamerica and all other areas of Latin America - Brazil, Argentina and Peru.

University of California, Berkeley Bancroft Library.

Collection strengths are in manuscripts, imprints, newspapers, broadsides and pamphlets for historical and contemporary research on México, the Northern territories, and Central America. Of note is The Bancroft Library's collection of Inquisition documents, the largest in the United States.

UCLA Library Collections and Internet Resources in Latin American Studies

Strong emphasis on humanities and social sciences materials pertaining to Argentina, Brazil, and Mexico. Also home of the UCLA Latin American Center.

University of California, San Diego - Latin American Studies Collection

The collection focuses on Mexico, Central America, and the Andean region, with strong emphasis on women's studies, ethnic studies, immigration, and elections for all countries in the region. Also produces the electronic publication Latin American election statistics: a guide to sources.

University of Florida - Latin American Collection

Features holdings on Caribbean and Brazil, with extensive serial and government document materials.

University of Georgia

Strong in literature, history, and anthropology with an emphasis on Brazilian literature, Latin American cinema, and Inter- American relations. The Peabody Awards Collection holds over 1200 radio and TV entries on Latin American and US Latino topics.

University of Kansas - Department for Spain, Portugal, and Latin America

In addition to the Library's strong holdings on Costa Rica, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Cuba, Haiti, and Mexico, there are some very interesting and unique special collections as well.

University of Miami Libraries

Holdings include the Caribbean Collection and the Cuban Heritage Collection, which consists of extensive primary and secondary source materials pertaining to the history of Cuba from its discovery to the present.

University of New Mexico Libraries

Home of the exceptional Center for Southwest Research / Sam L. Slick Collection of Latin American and Iberian Posters with a collection of approximately 10,000 post-1960s Latin American and Spanish political posters. Other holdings focus on Mexican popular graphic material and Latin American photography.

University of Puerto Rico, Recinto de Río Piedras

The Puerto Rican Collection is a research library that holds publications by Puerto Rican authors that relate to the island and its people.

University of Texas at Austin

The Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection has exceptional holdings on Mexico, including printed materials from 16th to 20th centuries, manuscripts, government documents, maps. Strong concentrations on the countries of the Río de la Plata, Brazil, Chile, Peru, and Central America.

University of Wisconsin, Madison - Ibero-American Studies Collection

Features The Ibero-American Electronic Text Series devoted to Latin American and Iberian works in the humanities, with over 35 titles in Spanish that cover a wide array of works from Latin America and Spain that span from the medieval to contemporary period

 

Spanish Language & Literature Research Guide

Phil MacLeod's picture
Phil MacLeod
Contact:
Philip S. MacLeod

pmacleo@emory.edu

Bibliographer for Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Luso-Hispanic Studies, African Studies and Comparative Literature

Robert W. Woodruff Library

Emory University

540 Asbury Circle

Atlanta, GA 30322

Tel.404-727-0150
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322