Skip to main content

Primary Source Research in Latin American History: Resources at Emory

Colonial Latin American Microfilms

LATIN AMERICAN MICROFILMS

Colonial Latin America:

Slavery Tracts & Pamphlets from the West India Committee collection: now at the Institute of Commonwealth Studies. MICFILM 1365. 28 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 1365.

Africans in the New World, 1493-1834: from the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University. MICFILM 4370. 30 reels. For content guide to reels, see the digital guide.

Archivo General de Indias. El virreinato de Nueva España y Perú durante los siglos XVI y XVII.

MICFILM 3078 No. 46. 3 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3078 No. 46.

MICFILM 3078 No. 47. 4 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3078 No. 47.

MICFILM 3079. 51 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3079 No. 60.

MICFILM 3080 No. 61. 41 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3080 No. 61.

Archivo General de Indias. Sección de Contratación. Inventarios, [1786].

MICFILM 3076. 9 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3076 No. 4.

Archivo General de Indias. Sección de Contaduría. Inventarios, Sección de Contaduría.

MICFILM 3075. 1 reel. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3075 No. 3.

Archivo General de Indias. Sección de Justicia. Inventarios, Sección de Justicia [1809] .

MICFILM 3077. 2 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3077 No.5.

Colonial-Hispanic Legal Documents (18th-19th Centuries).

MICFILM 3030. 13 reels. No print guide available.

Colonial Latin American Manuscripts and Transcripts in the Obadiah Rich Collection.

MICFILM 3145. 33 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3145.

Latin American and Iberian Pamphlets. I, 1802-1950. Latin American and Portuguese Cinema Pamphlets. MICFILM 4120. 1 reel. No print guide available.

Latin American History and Culture: An Archival record. Series 1, The Yale University Collection of Latin American Manuscripts. MICFILM 4136. 102 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 4136. 9v.

Slavery, Source Material and Critical Literature. MICFICHE 1414. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 1414. Materials in this collection have individual catalog records in Euclid. Do a complex search in Euclid with the collection title in Series, the name of a country in Subject, and/or limit by language (Spanish and Portuguese for materials related to Latin America).

Emory Collections

Emory University has substantial collections of primary source material for both colonial and modern Latin American history. Majority of them are located at the Woodruff Library and come in a variety of formats: print, microfilm and electronic.

Discovere

Search DISCOVERE to identify primary sources such as books, music, videos, and magazines/journals (but not articles) owned by Emory's libraries

Modern Latin American Microfilms

Modern Latin America:

General

CIA Research Reports. Latin America, 1946-1976.

MICFILM 1486. 5 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 1486 vol. 3.

The John F. Kennedy National Security Files. Latin America: National Security Files, 1961-1963.

MICFILM 3415. 10 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3415.

Latin American and Iberian Pamphlets. I, 1802-1950. Latin American and Portuguese Cinema Pamphlets.

MICFILM 4120. 1 reel. No print guide available.

Latin American History and Culture: An Archival record. Series 1, The Yale University Collection of Latin American Manuscripts.

MICFILM 4136. 102 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 4136. 9v.

The Lyndon B. Johnson National Security Files. Latin America: National Security Files, 1963-1969.

MICFILM 3708. 13 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3708.

NACLA Report on the Americas and Misc. Publications: North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana. MICFILM 3794. 6 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3789; STACKS Z688 .L4 J64 1999.

Robert Jackson Alexander Papers, 18990 (1945)-1999: the Interview Collection. MICFILM 4429. 15 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 4429.

Argentina

Argentina: North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana.

MICFILM 4032. 10 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3789; STACKS Z688 .L4 J64 1999.

Notes from the Argentine legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1811-1906. [February 1, 1811-July 30, 1906]

4 reels.

MICFILM 859

 

 

 

U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Argentina, 1918-1941.

MICFILM 4305. 4 reels. No print guide available.

Bolivia

Bolivia: North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana.

MICFILM 4030. 5 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3789; STACKS Z688 .L4 J64 1999.

Brazil

Brazil: North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana.

MICFILM 4029. 6 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3789; STACKS Z688 .L4 J64 1999..

Brazil's Popular Groups.

MICFILM 4096. For guide to subject categories, see the Brazil's Popular Groups online search engine.

Princeton University Latin American Pamphlet Collection. Brazil.

MICFILM 4028. 90 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 4028.

Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Brazil, 1910-29.

MICFILM 4163. 54 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 4163.

Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Brazil, 1930-1939.

MICFILM 4164. 48 reels. No print guide available.

Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Brazil, 1940-1944.

MICFILM 4165. 84 reels. No print guide available.

Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Brazil, 1945-1949.

MICFILM 4166. 48 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 4166.

Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal, Economic, Industrial, and Social Affairs of Brazil, 1950-1954.

MICFILM 4167. 48 reels. No print guide available.

Records of the Department of State relating to Internal Political and National Defense Affairs of Brazil, 1955-1959.

MICFILM 4169. 8 reels. No print guide available.

Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Brazil, 1960-1963.

MICFILM 4151. 21 reels. No print guide available.

Caribbean Area

Caribbean: North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana.

MICFILM 3796. 5 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3789; STACKS Z688 .L4 J64 1999.

Slavery Tracts & Pamphlets from the West India Committee collection: now at the Institute of Commonwealth Studies.

MICFILM 1365. 28 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 1365.

Central America

Central America: North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana.

MICFILM 3793. 16 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3789; STACKS Z688 .L4 J64 1999.

Chile

Chile: North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana.

MICFILM 3790. 50 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3789; STACKS Z688 .L4 J64 1999.

Colombia

Colombia: North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana.

MICFILM 4031. 11 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3789; STACKS Z688 .L4 J64 1999.

Costa Rica

Costa Rica: North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana.

MICFILM 3795. 5 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3789; STACKS Z688 .L4 J64 1999.

Cuba

Cuba: North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana.

MICFILM 3789. 24 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3789; STACKS Z688 .L4 J64 1999.

Granma   : official organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Cuba.

 

MICFILM 98   (1966-1991)

Minerva: revista quincenal dedicada a la mujer de color.

 

MICFICHE 1547. 37 microfiche. No print guide available.

Princeton University Latin American Pamphlet Collection. Cuba.

MICFILM 4357. 63 reels. No print guide available.

The Women's Movement in Cuba, 1898-1958: The Stoner Collection on Cuban Feminism.

MICFILM 3319. 13 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3319.

Dominican Republic

Dominican Republic: North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana.

MICFILM 3791. 18 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3789; STACKS Z688 .L4 J64 1999.

A Guide to Crises in Panama and the Dominican Republic: National Security Files and NSC Histories.

MICFILM 1603. 8 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 1603.

Ecuador

Ecuador: North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana.

MICFILM 4034. 5 reels. Print guide at MICFORM REF. Z688 .L4 J64 1999.

Haiti

Haiti: North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana.

MICFILM 4036. 2 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3789; STACKS Z688 .L4 J64 1999.

Mexico

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files. Mexico, 1940-1944: Internal Affairs.

MICFILM 1642. 43 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 1642 PT.1

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files. Mexico, 1950-1954: Foreign Affairs.

MICFILM 1546. 16 reels. No print guide available.

Nicaragua

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Nicaragua, 1945-1949: Internal affairs, Decimal Number 817 and Foreign Affairs, Decimal Numbers 717 and 711.17.

MICFILM 1620. 12 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 1620.

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Nicaragua, 1950-1954: Internal Affairs and Foreign Affairs, Decimal Numbers 717, 817 and 917 and Foreign Affairs, Decimal Numbers 617 and 611.17.

MICFILM 1621. 11reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 1621.

Nicaragua: North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana.

MICFILM 4033. 20 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3789; STACKS Z688 .L4 J64 1999.

Panama

A Guide to Crises in Panama and the Dominican Republic: National Security Files and NSC Histories. Edited by Paul Kesaris.

MICFILM 1603. 8 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 1603.

Panama: North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana.

MICFILM 4035. 4 reels. Print guide at MICROGUIDE 3789; STACKS Z688 .L4 J64 1999.

Ancient American Art | Michael C. Carlos Museum

571 South Kilgo Circle
Atlanta, GA 30322

The Carlos Museum's collection of art of the ancient Americas is substantial, consisting of more than 2,300 pieces. The collection is particularly strong in ancient Costa Rica, featuring over 600 works from all periods, but all three principal cultural centers of the Americas are represented: Mesoamerica, Central America, and the Andes.

 

Voyages Database

Voyages Database (1492-present) Web based, interactive and continually updated database on the trans-Atlantic slave trade between Africa and the New World. Upon completion, the database will contain more than 35,000 voyages, approximately 82 percent of the entire history of the slave trade.

 

Specialized Resources

LATIN AMERICAN JEWISH PERIODICALS & MICROFILMS

Title:        Da·v·ke.

Publication info:              Buenos Aires : [Da·v·ke], 1949-1981.

Personal name:                Suskovich, Salomón, 1906-

Physical description:      82 v. ; 23 cm.

Publication history:        Num. 1 (Yuli-Sep·t 1949)-Num. 82 (Yan. 1981).

Subject:               Yiddish literature--Periodicals.

Subject:               Jews--Argentina--Periodicals.

Uniform title:    Da·v·ke (Buenos Aires)

General note:    Title from cover.

General note:    Edited by Salomon Suskovich.

General note:    "Dray ·hodeshim-shrif·t far li·tera·tur un ·kriti·k."

Summary holdings:         GENERAL HAS: no.11/12,14/15,18/19-21,26-29,31-37/38,41/42-65,68-76

Call Number:            AP91 .D26 NO.73-76        1              STOR-JRNL          STORAGE

 

TItle:         Judische Wochenschau : La Semana Israelita

Publication info:               Buenos Aires: [S.N.]

MARBL            ... V.1(1940)-V.51 (1967)                               IN-PROCESS

 

 

Title:       Aonde vamos? [microform].

Publication info:          [Rio de Janeiro : s.n.,

Physical description:   v. : ill. ; 28 cm.

Subject:           Jews--Periodicals.

Subject:           Jews--Brazil--Periodicals.

General note: Description based on: Año 4, núm. 13 (3 de junho de 1943); title from caption.

Reproduction note:     Microfilm. año 4-33 (1943-1976) Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Library Microreprographic Service, 1980. 12 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

Summary holdings:  GENERAL HAS: v.4-v.19,v.22-v.23,v.31-v.33 1943-1959,1963-1965,1974-1975/1976

Call Number : GENERAL    MICFILM 4254

 

 

 

Title:        Die prese [microform] = Presse.

Publication info:              Buenos Aires : [s.n.,

Physical description:      v.

Hierarchical place:          --Argentina--Buenos Aires

Publication history:        Began 1918.

Subject:               Jews--Argentina--Buenos Aires--Newspapers.

Subject:               Buenos Aires (Argentina)--Newspapers.

Uniform title:    Prese (Buenos Aires, Argentina)

General note:    "La prensa Israelita."

General note:    "Diario Israelita de la mañana."

General note:    Description based on: A. 9, [no.] 3,146 (21 de jun. de 1926).

Reproduction note:        Microfilm. New York, N.Y. : New York Public Library. microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

Language:           In Yiddish.

Summary holdings:         GENERAL HAS: 1926-1931

 Call Number            MICFILM 4536 1930 OCT 26-1931 JAN 30         MICROFILM        MICROFORMS

 

 

Title:        Di Idishe tsay·tung [microform]: Diario Israelita.

Publication info:              Buenos Ayres : [o. fg.],

Physical description:      v. : ill.

Hierarchical place:          --Argentina--Buenos Aires.

Subject:               Jews--Argentina--Newspapers.

Subject:               Buenos Aires (Argentina)--Newspapers.

Uniform title:    Idishe tsay·tung (Buenos Aires, Argentina)

General note:    Description based on: No. 2667 (Oct. 7, 1923).

Reproduction note:        Microfilm. Año 9, no. 2667 (Oct. 7, 1923)-año 59, no. 17787 (July 29, 1973). New York : New York Public Library, 1961-1975. 133 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. (MN *ZZAN-1003)

Language:           In Yiddish and some Spanish.

Summary holdings:         GENERAL HAS: 1923-1930

 Call Number  :           MICFILM 4535 1930 MAY 1-AUG 15            1              MICROFILM        MICROFORMS

 

Title:        Nueva Sión [microform].

Publication info:              Buenos Aires : ["Editorial Nueva Sión" de la Fundación Mordejai Anilevich

Corporate name:             Fundación Mordejai Anilevich (Argentina)

Physical description:      v. : ill. ; 35 x 40 cm.

Subject:               Jews--Argentina--Periodicals.

Subject:               Jews--Periodicals.

Subject:               Labor Zionism--Argentina--Periodicals.

Subject:               Argentina--Ethnic relations--Periodicals.

General note:    Director: David Filc.

General note:    Description based on: 2a. época, año 1, no. 1 (abr. de 1984); title from cover.

Reproduction note:        Microfilm. no.716-859 (Jan. 19, 1990-Dec. 11, 2000):[Gaps] Washington, D.C. : [Produced for the Preservation Microfilming Program by the] Library of Congress Photoduplication Service. microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

Summary holdings:         GENERAL HAS: no.716-no.859 1990-2000

 

Call Number :   MICFILM 4256 NO.838-859 1999-2000      1              MICROFILM        MICROFORMS

 

 Title:                   Der Argentiner magazin [microform].

Publication info:              Buenos Ayres : [0. fg.], 1935- (Cultura)

Physical description:      v. : ill. ; 27 cm.

Publication history:        Began in 1935; ceased in 197-?--Cf. List of Serials in Israel Libraries.

Subject:               Jews--Argentina--Periodicals.

General note:    Description based on: 9. yorgang. num. 114 (Abril 1944); title from cover.

Reproduction note:        Microfilm. band 1-36 (1935-1971):[Gaps] Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Library Microreprographic Service, 1980. 14 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

Summary holdings:         GENERAL HAS: no.1-no.445 1935-1971

Summary holdings:         GENERAL HAS: no.1-no.445 1935-1971

Call Number:            MICFILM 4238 NO.398-445 1968-1971      1              MICROFILM        MICROFORMS

 

 Title:        Israel [microform].

Publication info:              [Buenos Aires, Empresa Editorial Israel]

Physical description:      v. ill. 30 cm.

Subject:               Jews--Periodicals.

Subject:               Jews--Argentina--Periodicals.

Subject:               Israel--Periodicals.

Uniform title:    Israel (Buenos Aires, Argentina)

Reproduction note:        Microfilm. t.9:no.430-t.20:no.855 (nov.14,1924-oct.17,1935):[Gaps] New York : New York Public Library, 1983. 3 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

Summary holdings:         GENERAL HAS: 1924-1935

 Call Number:  MICFILM 4239 1932 JAN 8-1935 OCT 17   1              MICROFILM        MICROFORMS

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322