Skip to main content

Primary Source Research in Latin American History: Emory Primary Source Databases

Latin American Sources

Archivo Historico del Arzobispado de México  This image database contains 9550 documents and 319 books related to the administration of the archdiocese of Mexico during the colonial period. The AHAM include three major record sets: Fondo Episcopal, Fondo Cabildo, and Fondo Juzgado Eclesiástico de Toluca.

 

Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture : The Lima Oliveira Library The online archive includes around 2,750 pamphlets, from the Oliveira Lima Library housed at Catholic University. Most of the pamphlets relate specifically to Brazil.

 

World Scholar Latin America Archive Database contains over 1 million pages of primary source material dealing with Latin America. The materials come from both the colonial and national periods.  Click on the Historical Collections tab for the complete list of collections

 

Historical Newspapers

Accessible Archives (includes major 19thC African American newspapers)

America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922)

Atlanta Constitution Historical (1868-1988)

Boston Globe Historical (1872 - 1984)

Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876

Chicago Tribune Historical (1849-1992)

Christian Science Monitor Historical (1908-2002)

Current Digest of the Soviet/Post-Soviet/Russian Press (1949-2016)

Ethnic Newswatch (1959 to Present)

Federal Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), 1941-1996 

Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980)

Jerusalem Post (1932-2008)

Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals

Latin American Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive A collection of historical newspapers 1800-1922 from most of the nations of Latin America (Spanish, Portuguese and English)

Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1989)

New York Times Historical (1851-2009)

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (19thC and early 20thC)

O Estado de Sao Paulo (1875 to Present  -   Limit to the number articles that can be viewed a month)

The Times of India (1838-2005)

Times Digital Archive (1785-1985) Online version of the "Times" - British newspaper.

VEJA Digital  Digital access all issues of Veja, an important weekly Brazilian news magazine.  Coverages begins with issue 1 1968. YOU MUST REGISTER TO USE THE ARCHIVE

Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-1995)

Washington Post Historical (1877-1995)

Historical American Sources

America's Early Imprints This full text database offers the content of Charles Evans' American Bibliographyof more than 36,000 works published in this country between 1639 and 1800, the bibliography by Ralph B. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker with full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century, searchable facsimile images of broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. Based on the American Antiquarian Society's collections and Afro-Americana imprints from Library Company of Philadelphia 1535-1922

 

American Periodicals Series Online (1740 - 1900)A major primary source collection for historical research. Includes digitized images of American periodicals from the colonial period through the beginning of the 20th century. More than 1,000 periodicals from all fields.

Historical International Sources

Empire Online (1492-present) Primary sources on colonial history, politics, culture and society from 1492 to the 21st century. Thematically divided into sections covering Cultural Contacts, Literature of Empire, the Visible Empire, Religion, Race, Class and Imperialism. Sources include Exploration journals and logs; Letter books and correspondence; Periodicals; Diaries; Official Government Papers; Missionary papers; Travel writing; Slave papers; Memoirs; Fiction; Children's Adventure Stories; Traditional; folk tales; Exhibition Catalogues and guides; Maps; Marketing Posters; Photographs; and Illustrations. Indexing by period, by date, by person and subject.

 

Sabin Americana Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is a fully searchable online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is rich in original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more. The resource currently contains an estimated 36,400 titles, 44,000 volumes totaling almost 9,500,000 pages. The genesis for this database is the noted bibliography compiled by Joseph Sabin: Bibliotheca Americana – a Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time.

 

The Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic LIterature (1450-1850) This database is a collection of legal and literary publications from the mid-fifteenth to the mid-eighteenth century. The entire work is searchable. This will be a very useful collection for researching piracy, given the impact it had on early modern economies.

 

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 (brand new - worldwide coverage) An important portal for slavery and abolition studies, this database brings together documents and collections covering the period 1490-2007 from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Subjects include varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. Contains images of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images not available elsewhere plus original essays by leading scholars, and links to other sites. Part 1 of 3 currently available.

Historical British Sources

Latin America Print Confidential 1833-1969 The documents of Confidential Print: Latin America, issued by the Foreign and Colonial Offices, cover the whole of South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the height of the Cold War in the 1960s

 

 Early English Books Online (1475-1700) Presents images of every page of books printed in Great Britain or anywhere in English between 1475 and 1700.

 

 Eighteenth Century Collections Online (1701-1800) Searchable full text images of all titles published published between 1701 and 1800 in Great Britain and its possessions or in English published anywhere. (Mostly books.)

 

Eighteenth Century Journals II (1699-1812) Provides full-text access to 70 rare British newspapers and periodicals from the 17th and 18th centuries. These materials have been carefully screened and selected to avoid overlap with the collections in Early English Books Online (EEBO), and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO). Also includes a number of almanacs from the 18th Century.

 

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)--the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. More than twelve hundred titles and almost one million pages are included.

 

19th Century British Newspapers Searchable full-text access to the 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent the nineteenth century Britain.  This new collection includes national and regional papers.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322