Skip to main content

MUS 190: Music and Film: Articles

Steps for Finding Articles

Look for article citations in these places:

  • the databases on this page.
  • bibliographies and footnotes in literature you already have.

Find out if the article is available at Emory:

  • Look up the journal title in discoverE.
    • Specify Journals in the drop-down box and type in the journal title—not the title of the article.
    • When you find a journal, check whether Emory has the specific volume or year you need.

  • The Find-it-at-Emory buttons can simplify your search, but they can give false negatives.  Check the journal title in discoverE to be sure.

  • Consider how useful the article may be to you.  Is it from a scholarly or popular source?  How long is it?

If Emory doesn't have the article you want,

  • Request it through Interlibrary Loan.
  • Expect to wait at least two weeks for delivery.
  • Most articles are provided free to students.

About Logging In

To access any library database—
start from a library web page.

On campus:  no log-in necesssary.

From off campus:  enter your Emory ID and password (the ones you use for e-mail).

Use Databases to Identify Articles, Essays, etc.

Music Databases

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A comprehensive guide to publications on music from all over the world, RILM Abstracts covers all literature about music, not just journal articles. Entries include abstracts in English. Coverage begins with 1967. Truncation symbol: *. Wildcard: ? for one character, * for multiple characters.

Music Index Online
Indexes articles in more than 700 music periodicals and selectively indexes journals in related fields. Coverage begins with 1979.  Caution: omit punctuation other than quotation marks (for phrases).  Truncation symbol: $.  Wildcard for any number of characters: $.

International Index to Music Periodicals
Try this for popular music.  Indexes articles in more than 430 music journals from about 20 countries; selectively indexes some newspapers. Coverage begins with 1996 except for selected titles indexed in their entirety.  Abstracts are provided for articles published after 1995.

Film Databases

Connect to the Film Studies Research Guide for recommended film databases. (Opens in a new window.)

Multidisciplinary Databases 

Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly literature across many disciplines.  Includes a broad range of literature, not just journal articles.

  • Contains Find It @ Emory and full Text @ Emory links.  Always search ECULDI if these don't get you to the material.
  • In "Advanced Scholar Search" you can limit by author, date, or broad subject area.
  • If something is available for purchase, explore your options: the Emory Libraries may provide it at no charge.

Academic Search Complete
Provides the full-text online of articles from over 5,000 periodicals in many different disciplines.  Also indexes and abstracts other publications such as books and conference proceedings.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322