Skip to main content

Primary Sources Research Guide: Where to Look for Primary Sources

Find Primary Sources held by the Emory Libraries

Emory FindingAids Database: Browse or search online finding aids for most of the collections available in Emory's Rose Manuscript, Archives,and Rare Book Library.

The library catalog, discoverE searches print and electronic books, audio-visual materials, sound recordings,and databases provided by the Emory libraries and their many special collections. 

To search discoverE, use the ADVANCED search in the library catalog, discoverE.

Put in your topic keyword and search one of the following terms as a subject:

  • sources
  • archives
  • correspondence
  • interviews
  • notebooks
  • diaries
  • documents
  • personal narratives
  • speeches
  • writings
  • fiction
  • reports
  • pictorial works
  • songs and music
  • cases
  • case studies

 

 

 

Other places to look for Primary Sources

Proquest Historical Databases: Get access to historical newspapers (New York Times, Atlanta Journal/Constitution, etc.) and other historical newspapers publications.

Artemis Primary Sources (Gale): This database searches 16 databases of primary sources. See the full list of resources it searches.

Digital Public Library of America: Search materials from America's libraries, archives, and museums

Worldcat: This global catalog of more than 1 billion items contains descriptions of books, archives, manuscript collections, digital and audio-visual materials in libraries and other repositories around the world. Using Worldcat's ADVANCED SEARCH option you can limit your search by format, date, publication location, and many other parameters.

Search other archives

Archive Grid: Contains more than a million collection descriptions for primary materials housed in the US, UK, and Ireland.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322