Skip to main content

Finding Dissertations: Emory University Dissertations

Finding Dissertations @ Emory

What does Woodruff Library have?

Dissertations

Woodruff Library HAS dissertations written for the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences at Emory University.

Woodruff Library DOES NOT KEEP COPIES of dissertations from the following programs:

  • Pitts Theology Library of the Candler School of Theology at Emory University houses its own dissertations. A keyword search for “Theses & Dissertations, Candler School of Theology” will uncover post-1960 theses and dissertations in DiscoverE.
  • The Health Sciences Library has a collection of theses from the Rollins School of Public Health.  For more information see the Health Sciences Library's webpage about finding Rollins School of Public Health theses.

Master's Theses

  • An incomplete collection of College Master's Theses is at Woodruff Library. If you do not find a particular Master's Thesis in DiscoverE, you may want to check with the academic department in which the thesis was written.
  • The Health Sciences Library has a collection of theses from the Rollins School of Public Health.  For more information see the Health Sciences Library's webpage about finding Rollins School of Public Health theses.

 

Honors Papers

Honors Papers written by senior undergraduates are kept in the Woodruff Library. (They can be searched in the catalog by author, title or by using the phrase "honors papers" combined with a keyword, e.g. honors papers and egypt.)

 

Where are the dissertations at Woodruff Library?

 

Most Emory University dissertations are available in two formats, paper (up until 2008 when paper copies were no longer submitted) and electronic full-text. There is a full-text copy of each dissertation available in PDF format via DiscoverE or Proquest's Dissertations and Theses database.

Beginning in Fall 2008, all Emory University graduate students have submitted their dissertations and masters theses in electronic form to the Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) database.  Undergraduates completing honors theses have contributed to the online depository since 2009.  ETD is an open, online, searchable repository for Emory University student research.

For theses written until Fall 2008, there are typically two bound paper copies: a circulating copy found in the Stacks (or Storage), and a non-circulating archival copy in the Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Books Library (MARBL). Archival copies are in Storage, with the exception of the latest year's dissertations. Please contact the Rose Library (MARBL) at (404) 727-6887 to request earlier archival copies.

Locating Emory Dissertations by Author or Title in DiscoverE:

  Search for your dissertation by author or title using either keyword or browse mode.
 

 

 

Locating Emory Dissertations by Department in DiscoverE:

 

There are several ways to find dissertations by department. You can browse by author, using the department as an "author":

Example Author: Emory University Dept. of Psychology

NOTE: in DiscoverE many of the electronic versions of Emory dissertations do not include dept. information. So, to find the electronic versions, follow the directions above and when you find the dissertation you would like, click on the author's personal name.  This will take you to all versions of the dissertation by this author.

Or you can search for the online copies by keyword. This method will also find dissertations from various departments which include your keyword(s).

Example: emory thesis ph.d. and English

Lastly, you can find a listing of History Department dissertations here:

History Dissertations at Emory University


 

Locating Emory Dissertations by Subject in DiscoverE:

 

Search by keyword using topics combined with "emory thesis ph.d." or "dissertat$". The DiscoverE "truncation" symbol is (*), which searches for variations on a keyword such as "dissertation."

Example: emory thesis ph.d. and family and african americans


 

Locating Emory Dissertations in the Proquest Dissertation & Theses Database:

 

Dissertations & Theses covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. It selectively covers master's theses, Canadian dissertations, British, and other international dissertations. Abstracts are included for dissertations beginning July 1980 and for master's theses beginning spring 1988. Full-text of all titles after 1997 and selected earlier titles are available. 

 

Once in the Dissertations and Theses database, you can locate Emory dissertations a number of ways, including searching under author, title, or school.

 

 

 

Locating Emory Dissertations in the Emory Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) Database:

 

Go to the Emory Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) website and use the search, advanced search or browse function to locate the theses or dissertation you need. 

The Emory ETD database includes:

all Emory theses and dissertations produced as of 2008 by Emory College, Candler School of Theology, and the Laney Graduate School.

Subject Guide

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322