Skip to main content

Dance Research Guide: Scholarly Articles on Dance

Get Articles through ILL

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL), you can get copies of articles that Emory doesn't own. When placing your request, be sure to:

  • provide a complete citation if at all possible;
  • mention the source (such as the database or book) where you found the citation.

You will be notified when your materials arrive (most materials are obtained within 2 weeks).

Recommended Databases for Dance

The Databases @ Emory page has a broad selection of databases which may contain dance-related articles. The most immediately useful citation databases and indexes for Dance are listed below. Feel free to contact the Dance subject librarian for additional suggestions related to your specific research project.

TRY THESE DATABASES FIRST

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text (1984 to present) - Try first!
Indexes articles, essays and book chapters from internationally selected publications in drama, dance, media, mime, mixed entertainment, storytelling, music-drama, and puppetry.

MLA International Bibliography  (1963 to present)
Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes a large number of dance-related articles. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.

Physical Education Index (1970 to present)
Indexes a wide variety of literature in the field including scholarly, trade and popular journals, reports, conference proceedings and related patents. Includes information on dance, physical fitness, education, and therapy as well as coaching, biomechanics-kinesiology and sports activities.

JSTOR (Dates of coverage vary)
Full text coverage of over 300 prominent scholarly journals in various fields, including performing arts. Dance-related journals include Dance ChronicleCORD News/Dance Research JournalDance Research: The Journal of the Society for Dance Research , and Performing Arts Journal/PAJ.  

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

Academic Search Complete (1984 to present)
Indexes both popular, general interest magazines and scholarly journals. Includes selected full text from 1990.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 to present)
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index(A&HCI) is a multidisciplinary database. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. Subjects include: Archaeology, Linguistics, Architecture, Literary Reviews, Art, Literature, Asian Studies, Music, Classics, Philosophy, Dance, Poetry, Film, History, Religion, Language, and Theater. AHCI is included as a part of Web of Science.

Humanities International Complete (1975 to present)
Covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. HIC includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text for more than 770 journals. Includes many dance and performance-related articles in art journals.

Project Muse (ca. 1990 to present)
Full text access for many major humanities journals, including Dance Research and Dance Research Journal.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322