Skip to main content

Theater Studies Research Guide: Theater Reviews

Theater Reviews

Academic Search Complete
To identify reviews of plays in periodicals from 1984 to the present, use the "advanced search" and search for the play title in the default fields and "entertainment review" as the document type. Includes full text of many articles from 1990 to the present.

Guide to Critical Reviews

Provides citations to reviews of staged productions in popular periodicals.

Z5782 .S34 REFERENCE

Lexis Nexis Academic
Review sections of newspapers may be searched by selecting the "guided search" and entering "Arts and Sports" in step 1 and "Book, movie, music and play reviews" in step 2. Dates of coverage vary from newspaper to newspaper. Check the "source list" for details.

London Stage

A calendar of plays, entertainments and afterpieces, together with casts, box-receipts and contemporary comment compiled from the playbills, newspapers and theatrical diaries of the period. Covers 1660 through 1959.

PN2596 .L6 W384 REFERENCE

New York Theater Critics' Review (1950 to present)

Reproduces reviews from the New York press and other media of Broadway, and since 1968, off-Broadway productions.

PN1993 .N45 REFERENCE

New York Times Historical

Includes the full newspaper text from 1851 through 1999.
Use the "advanced search" to locate reviews, and search for the article type "review." For best results, enter the title of the play in quotation marks to search for the exact phrase. Paper copies of the reviews are also available in the library's reference collection.

Readers Guide
For play reviews, use the "advanced search" and combine the play title, in quotation marks, and the article type "play review." For reviews before 1984, use the paper copies shelved in Reference under the call number AI3 .R48.

Research Library
Includes play review citations from 1986 to the present, and the full text of many reviews from 1991 to the present. "Advanced" searches for the play title may be combined with "performance review" as the article type.

The Times Digital Archive
Full text and PDF page image access to The Times (London) from 1785 to 1985. (Use LexisNexis for July 1, 1985 to present.)

Subject Guide

James Steffen's picture
James Steffen
Contact:
Music and Media Library

Office phone: (404) 727-8107

Main Music and Media phone: (404) 727-1777
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322