Skip to main content

Theater Studies Research Guide: Get Started: Reference

Online Reference Works

Theater-Specific Resources

Dramatist's Play Service: Complete Catalog of Plays. Provides acting editions of plays and assists with licensing of performances.

Play Index: Provides citations to plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to date. Covers wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio or television plays, and classic drama.

Playbill Online: Theatre news, listings, and some reference including awards.

General Reference

Reference Universe: Contains a number of theater encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Literature Criticism Online: Provides access to editorially selected critical responses of authors, works, and topics from every age and literary discipline. Includes over 200,000 reprinted critical essays, arranged chronologically within each entry to provide a “history” of the critical reception of a work. This is the online version of Gale’s literature criticism print sets:

  • Drama Criticism
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism
  • Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
  • Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism
  • Literature Criticism, 1400-1800
  • Shakespeare Literature Criticism
  • Classical & Medieval Criticism
  • Poetry Criticism
  • Short Story Criticism

Literature Resource Center: Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes articles from Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and much more."Authors by type" searches may be limited to genres such as "domestic dramas," "dramatic monologues," "Elizabethan drama," and other dramatic themes.

Shakespeare Collection: Brings together general reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material, and the full-text annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare. Includes selections from Four Centuries of Shakespeare, the Prompt Book collections; The Gordon Crosse Theatrical Diary; the First Folio, key Quartos, and major editions and adaptations from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries; photographs, line drawings, maps; selected works by Shakespeare’s contemporaries; selected content from Shakespearean Criticism; and reference materials.

Variety Obituaries. Reprints obituaries and other news stories and editorials about the deaths of individuals in show business.For recent Variety obituaries, see LexisNexis Academic Universe. For coverage from 1905 through 1994 see the print edition: PN1583 .V35 REFERENCE.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Try these discoverE search links for full lists of items in with the following subject keywords:

Subject Guide

James Steffen's picture
James Steffen
Contact:
Music and Media Library

Office phone: (404) 727-8107

Main Music and Media phone: (404) 727-1777
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322