Skip to main content

Environmental Honors & Independent Research Guide: Finding Articles

Scholarly Journals and Evaluating Resources

Scholarly journals review submitted articles before they are published. Many professors require students to use scholarly journal articles as resources when writing research papers. Here are tips on locating scholarly journal articles and evaluating sources.

Lullwater Turtle

Photo Credit: Bryan Meltz, Emory Report, March 31, 2008.

Finding Articles

The following databases include the most varied selection of environmental scholarly journals and magazines.

Use EndNote or Zotero to make your references cited/bibliography. The library offers workshops and one-on-one help with these tools.

Please contact Kristan for suggestions on sources specific to your research topic. The journals and research resources you should consult change depending on your topic (policy, ecological, public health, geological), and I can help save you time by helping you get started in the right place.

Using Databases to Find Articles

Databases like JSTOR, LexisNexis, and Academic Search Complete provide citations and/or full text of journal articles, books, and other materials. Emory University Libraries pay for access to the contents of more than 400 databases. See our Databases page for a complete listing. For help with searching databases, see our Finding Articles at Woodruff research guide.

Access from off-campus is available only to current Emory University students, faculty and staff, and requires an Emory Network ID and password.

Subject Guide

Kristan Majors's picture
Kristan Majors
Contact:
Woodruff Library
phone: 404-727-8932
email: kmajors@emory.edu
I assist students and faculty with research and class projects. Feel free to contact me for an appointment.
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322