Skip to main content

Love and Sex in Renaissance Europe: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Emory University makes a good deal of primary sources available to students in a digital format. To see the complete list of primary source databases available to students, click here

Below you will find a select list of databases that are particularly appropriate for your coursework. This list is not exhaustive.

Primary Sources

A primary source is a document, recording or other source of information created at the time being studied, by an authoritative source, usually one with direct personal knowledge of the events being described.

Primary sources include diaries, letters, family records, statistics, speeches, interviews, autobiographies, film, government documents, or original scientific research.

Primary sources can be found in Woodruff's Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL).

You can also find many primary source materials via discoverE.

Primary Sources in Electronic Format

Primary sources on microfilm

Woodruff library has a number of microfilm collections which are related to the topics covered in this class. Below is just a small list of some of the larger collections.

Women advising women.

Microfilm 3546

The primary sources in this microfilm collection provide a wealth of material for a broad range of topics. Coverage ranges from 1631-1837. There are 1,151 individual titles available in this collection, including, but not limited to almanacs, broadsides, journals and pamphlets. There is an online guide available here. There is also a set of printed guides available in Microforms Reference, call number MICFILM 3546 GUIDE.

Medieval and Early Modern Women
Micfilm 4046

This project brings together a unique collection of manuscripts from the 12th to the 17th centuries describing women's lives, their status, and their literary achievements. Online guide available here.

Online Sources

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322