Skip to main content

Love and Sex in Renaissance Europe: Secondary Sources

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

Full text databases

Academic Search Complete (dates vary)

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.

JSTOR (dates vary)

JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics. JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

Databases for locating journal articles

Historical Abstracts (1450 to present)
The international index to history journals and a key means of identifying periodical articles. The indexes of Historical Abstracts will directly link to any items which are available through JSTOR.

International Medieval Bibliography (400-1500) and Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale (400-1500)
The International Medieval Bibliography, which indexes journal articles, and the Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, which indexes books and monographs, can be searched together using a single interface.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

ATLA Religion Database
Indexes journals, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews in the areas of religion and theology.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1500)
Indexes journals covering the cultural aspects of the Renaissance in Europe from 1300-1700. It will eventually include all aspects of the Renaissance and Middle Ages (400-1500).

Bibliography of British and Irish History (55 BCE to present)
The Royal Historical Society's online bibliography provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British empire and commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.

MLA International Bibliography (dates vary)
Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.

Locating Books

To find materials located at any of Emory's libraries, search discoverE Emory's online library catalog.

Here are some examples of useful searches:

Marguerite , Queen, consort of Henry IV, King of France, 1553-1615
Sex customs Italy History
England  Social life and  customs 16th century
Women and literature Italy History
Renaissance France
Machiavelli
Marriage Italy History
Prostitution History
Trials Italy
Homosexuality and Renaissance
Women history renaissance, 1450-1600
Troubadours
Family Italy History
Sex in marriage France History
Marriage customes and rites Italy history
Jewish marriage customs and rites
Castiglione
Jews Italy history

If you are interested in getting books not held at Emory,try using WorldCat.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322